GFCI in garage trips at heavy rains.

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-16, 06:42 PM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
GFCI in garage trips at heavy rains.

Hi. I have 3 GFCIs outlet in the garage, only one has a reset button. The one with a reset button has my water pump and now a FIOS ONT unit plugged in.

The other two - 1)sprinkler timer 2) outdoor extension cord to a dusk-to-to-dawn light controller.

The one with the reset button seems to trip whenever we have heavy rains. Could the cause be the extension cord running outside? Would switching the outlet to one with a reset button help? I guess I never thought that the other outlets could affect each other, but I am wondering if that is what is going on. I don't know the order of the outlets - how they are hooked up as this house was 4 years old when I bought it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-16, 08:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,513
Received 1,030 Votes on 956 Posts
The order of connection is GFI receptacle > standard receptacle > standard receptacle.
The GFI protects all the receptacles connected to its load side.

Adding an additional one will just compound your problems without changing the wiring.

Name:  GFCI-Back.jpg
Views: 5126
Size:  38.3 KB

You've got some essential loads that need to stay connected. A nuisance trip from an outside extension cord shuts everything off. I would add two more GFI receptacles in place of the standard ones. There would need to be a wiring change. You would have to move the load wires and put them on the line side of the receptacle. Carry the lines thru to each one. This way a ground fault will only trip the receptacle it's plugged in to.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 10-10-16 at 08:48 PM. Reason: load was line in first paragraph
  #3  
Old 10-10-16, 08:24 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
You only have one GFCI. The others are probably Decora style receptacles run off the LOAD side of the GFCI. Of course the extension cord is causing it to trip in the rain. That's it's job. What amperage is the breaker supplying the circuit. Having a well pump on a receptacle is not normal.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-16, 08:52 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
PJmax:

So even though the other receptacles are marked "GFCI", the fact that there is no reset button means that they are not, Correct? Ok, now I feel like a dumbass. Those outlets were marked when I moved in, right on the outlet...so I just made a stupid assumption. Yes I definitely want to have them replaced with individual GFCI outlets.

Guess I am going to call my electrician to have this done right.

chandler:
I don't know the amperage. My circuit breaker box is a 200 amp box. How do I tell what the breaker is?

My well pump is just for my sprinkler system. and has been running like this (plugged into a GFCI in the garage) for 18 years. It does not run every day, heck it does not even run every week, lately. (We've been deluged!) Everyone I know that has a sprinkler well pump, has it in their garage running on a standard outlet. How else should it be done?
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-16, 08:56 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
There is probably a blue sticker that says "Ground Fault Protected Outlet". If not, post a picture of what you have. No need for an electrician. Just do away with the extension cord, or protect it from rain.

No need to install more GFCI receptacles. One protects them all.
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-16, 09:10 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The extension cord powers the controller for some outdoor lights - and I need those lights. I'll have to figure out a way to protect the controller without covering it up (it has a photosensor).

Yeah those outlets have a little blue sticker...just like you said.

By the way, this is the offending item. It works awesomely, except for the rain thing! I'll have to figure that out.

https://www.amazon.com/Woods-13547-6...or+light+timer
 

Last edited by yardnut; 10-11-16 at 11:18 AM.
  #7  
Old 10-11-16, 03:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The extension cord powers the controller for some outdoor lights
Then it is incorrectly connected. Code says extension cords are for temporary use only not permanent wiring. Tell us about the controller and we will help you wire it correctly.
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-16, 08:07 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The extension cord is for some seasonal lights, that I like to keep lit. How do you connect your outdoor seasonal lights?
 
  #9  
Old 10-12-16, 10:41 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Run underground cable from a good source to an elevated receptacle with an In Use cover. Plug in the lights.
 
  #10  
Old 10-12-16, 11:02 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
There is no room to bury a cable. This is literally right outside the garage, beside the driveway in front of the porch. All of one foot, maybe, outside the garage. An extension from the connector runs up onto the porch where the lights are plugged in - and those are protected from rain. I will work on waterproofing the connector. It's the dusk-to-dawn function of this connector that I like, and want, so that's what makes it a bit trickier to waterproof. I'll figure something out. Maybe attach it up on the porch somehow.
 
  #11  
Old 10-12-16, 06:30 PM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Okay, a quick jury-rig, but it will do for now. Cut off the top of a 2-liter soda bottle, cut a tab for the cord coming out of the controller, and slid it down on top of the it. Also moved the controller back against the brick, now it's under the overhang above the porch. Could still get hit with rains there, but this should provide protection for the plugs, until I figure out a better solution.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: