Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

What gauge wire should I run to support this commercial oven?

What gauge wire should I run to support this commercial oven?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-16, 04:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question What gauge wire should I run to support this commercial oven?

Hello,

I am in the middle of building a workshop right now and we are getting close to the point where wire will be run. So to save myself as much future headache as possible and allow for expansion of capabilities, I am wanting to run wire that will support my needs both now and in the future.

I need to run an oven and for starters I will probably be running the Frigidaire Gallery Series FGET3065PF - which is a double convection oven. I have determined that 8/3 wire would be the proper wire to run for this oven, based on these specs:

Voltage Rating: 240V / 208V / 60Hz
Connected Load (kW Rating) @ 240/208 Volts: 7.4/5.6 kW
Amps @ 240/208 Volts: 30.8/26.9 Amps
Minimum Circuit Required: 40 Amps

HOWEVER...

In the future I would like to be able to run a Vulcan VC4ED Full Size Electric Convection Oven, which is a commercial oven.

The specs on the Vulcan read as follows (taken from its Amazon.com listing) :

"...The VC4ED is heated by electric solid sheath elements rated at 12 KW. Its furnished with a two speed 1/2 HP oven blower-motor. The oven cool switch gives rapid cool down to keep your kitchen cooler. 208 or 240 volt, 60 Hz, 1 or 3 phase. The VC4ED includes a limited one year parts and labor warranty. Standard Features: Solid state temperature controls adjust from 150 to 500F. 60 minute timer with audible alarm. Stainless steel front, sides and top. Painted legs Independently operated stainless steel doors with double pane windows. 12.5 total KW..."

I am not familiar with something like this. My main question is... should I just run 6/3 wire and that would handle either of these? Also, I am not familiar with 1 vs 3 phase and am not sure exactly what I need to run so that I could hook one of these up in the future.

Thank you,
Greg
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-16, 04:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,577
Received 414 Votes on 387 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You only have single phase 240v service in your house so don't get a three phase unit.

12.5K = 52A at 240vac.
6/3 copper is good for that load.

Specs for that oven..... Fresourcecente/vulcanwolfberkel/ProductDocumentation.pdf

Looks like it may be user convertible but that is fairly odd to be able to convert from single phase to three phase easily.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-16, 05:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
6/3 is what I suspected. Just wanted to confirm. Thank you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: