Subpanel Flush with Drywall and EMT exit

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-16, 09:51 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Subpanel Flush with Drywall and EMT exit

I recently had a subpanel installed in my garage.

The panel is flush with the drywall. I'm planning on adding some circuits using EMT to the panel. What is the best way to cleanly exit the panel and the drywall?

Is there some kind of grommet that is typically used for this purpose or do I need to add a jbox where the subpanel is?

Thanks in advance for any insight into this.

Name:  IMG_0551.jpg
Views: 950
Size:  26.7 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-12-16 at 10:38 PM. Reason: Rotate image.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-16, 10:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You could use a surface mounted 4x4 box near the top or bottom of the panel. Then just fish cable from the 4x4 box into the panel. Conduit goes into the 4x4 box.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-16, 09:54 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,280
Received 108 Votes on 100 Posts
Often the conduit simply exits the drywall and joint compound is used around the conduit to seal the hole.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-16, 06:01 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
I recently had a subpanel installed in my garage.
So.......this is an attached garage?
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-16, 01:51 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
You could use a stub of flex conduit from the panel to an LB fitting outside the drywall.
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-16, 07:20 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

To answer CasualJoe's question, the subpanel is in my unattached garage.

I think I'll probably go with some kind of surface mounted box as suggested by Ray2047. Reason being, I'm going to add a number of circuits exiting here and I think that will be the most tidy solution.
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-16, 12:53 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
In an outbuilding, this panel should have a main disconnect if you don't already have one where the feeder enters the building.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: