Power outage question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-16, 07:06 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Power outage question

I have a 3000 watt generator and would love to install a manual transfer switch to my home. I simply want to power my refrigerator, one small freezer and a couple lights.
I went and bought a manual transfer switch and have not installed it yet. Upon looking at it I noticed that the plug is a 4 prong while my generator has a 3 prong female.
Considering I am not going to power many items I really wanted to be able to handle this through a switch. I am not going to power any 240 even though the generator can.

Are there adapters I can buy for the generator 3 prong female to plug my 4 prong cable for the transfer switch??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-16, 07:20 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,145
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Whats the make and model of gen?

Are there adapters I can buy for the generator 3 prong female to plug my 4 prong cable for the transfer switch??
No. You probably have a 120 volt only generator. The transfer switch you have is for a 120/240 gen that will power circuits in your panel..


The only thing you can do is install dedicated generator outlets next to the outlets you want to power. When thers a power failure start the gen, plug it into the outdoor inlet , then move the plug from say the refridge to the generator powered outlet next to it..

[ATTACH=CONFIG]71881[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 10-13-16, 07:36 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LIFAN Energy Storm 3,500-Watt 270cc Gasoline Powered Electric Start Inverter Generator with Remote-ESI3600iER - The Home Depot

This is the one I have. I wasnt planning on powering any 240 up so I was hoping there would be a switch option for when our power goes out so I could just keep the fridge cold and some lights.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-16, 08:07 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,145
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Are there any 240 loads in your main panel? Or are they all 120V?
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-16, 08:11 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are 240 loads and breakers but I didnt intend on wiring them up on the transfer station. Just a few 120v. I can certainly return this transfer station. I assume there are some 120v multi circuit solutions out there? Perhaps with the 3 prong plug options?
I am just trying to avoid wiring alternate plugs and certainly want to avoid a 2-3k generator.

Just want to keep food cold and freezer running.

I sincerely appreciate your help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: