Helping swapping out a receptacle?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-16, 04:55 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Helping swapping out a receptacle?

I want to install a USB receptacle where a standard one is. I've swapped receptacles before and it's always been simple.

The existing receptacle is next to a light switch. When I removed it I found that it appears to be wired to the switch?

I'd appreciate some insight into what the current situation is and whether I can safely replace with the new one. (And how)
Name:  IMG_8785.jpg
Views: 153
Size:  30.2 KB
Name:  IMG_8786.jpg
Views: 158
Size:  29.2 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-16, 05:32 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
They used the receptacle as a junction point to connect the two black wires together and the two white wires together.

I suggest you turn off the power and remove the two black wires from the outlet and tie them together with a wire nut along with a short piece of #12 black wire (6" is plenty). Do the same with the two white wires and a short length of white wire. Then use the two short wires, white and black, to connect to your new receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-16, 06:29 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Too add. On your new receptacle, there is no need to make a shepherd's crook on the wire. Just strip 1/2" or so on the single wire pigtails and insert into the holes and tighten the screws. They will capture the wires. Also, there is absolutely no need for taping around receptacles and switches.
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-16, 06:36 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Then new receptacle has two slots for white and two for black. Can't I just put both blacks and both whites into the two slots and join them that way?
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-16, 06:38 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
With that type receptacle, yes.
 
  #6  
Old 10-18-16, 06:42 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes, you can do that. The way I described is preferred because it is somewhat more reliable and has a few other fairly minor advantages.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: