What did I do wrong with this generator install?

Old 10-23-16, 11:50 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What did I do wrong with this generator install?

Hello all, first post in a home improvement forum. I'm new to this stuff so be easy on me. This house and shed were built in 2006. I bought it 95% complete. The shed had a 3 wire bundle loose inside so I traced it back to the panel. It was also loose in the panel so I figured the previous owner ran short on change, did not finish the job.

Here's the arrangement. Shed not too far from main panel, in the garage. I want to connect a generator to the panel, from the shed, using an interlock in the panel. Some last minute reading tells me that I should ground the generator frame to earth to avoid a shock hazard, so I have done that.

I bought a 240V breaker that matches my panel just fine. It has 3 terminals with a neutral pig tail, that I have wired to one of the common rails. Everything is rated for 20 AMPS (5,000 W generator).

This is essentially how it's wired:

The panel and you'll see the breaker in the top left spot. I KNOW, I KNOW, NO INTERLOCK YET. This will be moved down near the main switch when I have the time and have confirmed my wiring to work as intended.

This is where I have grounded the generator wiring and also where the breaker neutral wire terminates:

Some other pictures:

So the result? After waiting for my wife and child to leave the house, I began the first test. I powered both the main panel and sub panel off. I then switched all individual breakers to the off positions. I started up the generator and plugged it into the plug in the shed. Leaving the MAIN PANEL OFF, I turned the 240V breaker ON. Everything OK at this point.