Extending receptacles?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-16, 01:51 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Extending receptacles?

I am refinishing my raised ranch basement. I decided I wanted my walls to go straight from floor to ceiling instead of having a 4 foot shelf around the whole room. Now I have to pull the receptacles forward flush with the new wall.

What is the best way to do this? Can I extend the box's that are already there to the wall in front of them and just buy covers to close off the old boxes or do I have to rewire the whole thing with longer wires so I can keep the receptacles the same height throughout?

Below is a picture of the old box as well as the new wall that's in front of it.

Name:  20161023_152921.jpg
Views: 188
Size:  22.8 KB
 
  #2  
Old 10-23-16, 02:22 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Sorry to say you can't use the box as shown in the back wall as a junction box to extend the wire out to the new wall. Junction boxes can not be covered or buried within the wall. Unless you have enough slack in the wire to pull the existing box out to be mounted on the new wall you may be stuck with pulling new wire. But there is another solution and it is to use a Tyco splice connector. No box required and can be inside the wall.
Tyco Electronics Romex Splice Kit 2 Wire, 1/Clam-CPGI-1116377-2 - The Home Depot
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-16, 02:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Check with your AHJ before using a Tyco splice. Some jurisdictions may not approve their use. Consider also you are setting up a possible future problem should it fail since it may be forgotten and even if not forgotten the wall would have to be opened to check it.
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-16, 03:30 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm just going to pull the wire. If I reroute it I can probably salvage it. How far is the maximum space allowed between receptacles in a living area?
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-16, 04:42 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Any wall space 2' and longer, including going around corners, is to have outlets. No spot along the wall is to be more than 6' from an outlet.
 
  #6  
Old 10-23-16, 04:53 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, does this mean that the outlets can be 12 ft apart?
 
  #7  
Old 10-23-16, 05:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The receptacles can be no more than 12 foot apart.

You might be able to salvage more cable if you add an additional receptacle in between so the cable will reach.
 
  #8  
Old 10-23-16, 06:44 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PCBOSS. Now that I have to reroute wires anyway I am trying to figure out if I can just lower the outlets onto the 40" high cement, basement wall. Maybe you can help with this. I posted about it here http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ml#post2572738
 
  #9  
Old 10-23-16, 07:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
As I just posted in your other thread I would suggest keeping all receptacles in the 2x4 spaces to make things easier and to adequately protect the cables.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: