10/2NM wiring confusion-Help?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-25-16, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
10/2NM wiring confusion-Help?

Located in middle TN. Rusty DIY'er who's goto electric friend is on vacation for a week & I'm second-guessing myself...

Need outdoor receptacles in front side of house to power holiday lights, blow up decorations, occasional power tools for DIY projects, stock tank de-icers, waterline heat tape in winter, etc. on one circuit.

Already in place is 10/2NM Romex in 3/4" pvc conduit buried 12". Main service to house is 225A. Have an exterior junction box (w/2 empty slots) for this job: 52' run from to location#1 (for 4x4 post for 4gang metal box w/bubble cover), then 92' run to location#2 (same box set-up), then 10' run to location#3 (same box set-up). Possible location #4 additional 20' away (if enough juice).
I have a single pull 30A breaker (not installed yet), a 20A GFCI double receptacle for first outlet install, then 20A double outlets for rest of run.
1. Is this configuration correct for distance and application?
2. If 10/2 wire is too beefy (I upgraded b/c of distance & am now second-guessing), should I put a single pull 20A breaker instead? (I don't want to fry anything)

Expertise and easy-to-understand advice to this novice is truly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-25-16, 01:30 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,336
Received 49 Votes on 46 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Already in place is 10/2NM Romex in 3/4" pvc conduit buried 12"
Sorry, but you've already failed at this statement and need to start over - Romex is not allowed in wet/outdoor locations and buried in conduit counts as wet. Additionally, off the top of my head, conduit must be buried 18".
 
  #3  
Old 10-25-16, 02:42 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
You also cannot use a breaker larger than 20A for general-purpose receptacles. If you need 30A or more in the area, you would need to run multiple circuits of no larger than 20A each; or install a subpanel with everything that entails.

For a total distance of about 150', it does make sense to use #10 wire on a 20A circuit to compensate for the voltage drop; however make sure it's the correct #10 cable or wire and it's buried correctly per the previous poster.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: