Switch controlled half hot outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-25-16, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch controlled half hot outlet

Hello -
first time posting on this site so I hope I have this right .
In each room of my house there is a switch that controls an outlet as a half hot that do not work. The second room I am working on has 2 white, 2 black, and 2 red. the old outlet did not have a broken tab on the hot side so I broke it but it doesn't make the top outlet switch controlled. Currently the outlet has both reds going to the top, both blacks to the bottom, I can't think of any other reason why this might not be working. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-25-16, 04:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Tell us about all the wires and connections at the switch. If possible also pull out both the receptacle and switch and post pictures of all the connections. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #3  
Old 10-25-16, 04:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_3258.jpg
Views: 369
Size:  28.2 KBName:  IMG_3259.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  33.6 KBName:  IMG_3260.jpg
Views: 292
Size:  33.6 KB

Here are the pictures. The first one is of the switch, which had one red attached to the lower brass screw and one (tan?) colored wire stabbed in the back of the top. The switch box has the tan capped to black. The next two pics are of each side of the outlet showing how the white red and black are connected.
 
  #4  
Old 10-25-16, 07:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem solved! The red wire continued on to another outlet in the room that did not have a tab broken, so I believe it was feeding power from the black back through the red to the switch controlled outlet. I disconnected the red wire from this outlet and everything now works as it should.
 
  #5  
Old 10-25-16, 07:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
One suggestion: I see wires inserted into the back of the receptacle. Back stabs are less reliable and can eventually fail to make adequate contact. You should instead use pigtails when you have two or more wires on a terminal. When you change to pigtails be sure you don't mix up which two wires were paired at a terminal.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: