Sub panel with multiple grounds?


  #1  
Old 11-07-16, 06:09 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sub panel with multiple grounds?

I have a subpanel in my detached garage with a ground coming in from the main panel and a ground coming in from a grounding rod outside of the garage.

Presently, both grounds are wired into a combined neutral/grounding bar. Itís my understanding that a shared busbar is incorrect on a subpanel so Iíve attached a separate ground bar to remedy this.

My question is this;

Should I attach both grounds to the new bus bar? Or do I only need the one coming from the grounding rod? If it is unnecessary, how should I deal with the ground coming in from the main panel?

Thanks in advance for you thoughts.
 
  #2  
Old 11-07-16, 06:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,480
Received 3,479 Upvotes on 3,124 Posts
Do you have three or four wires between the main panel and the sub panel ?

Code now calls for four wires.... two hots, neutral and ground.

Both grounds connect to the new ground bar..... as long as there is a neutral wire on the isolated neutral bar.

There may be a neutral bonding screw in the panel that needs to be removed also.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-16, 08:30 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply

I've got 4 wires between the main panel and the sub panel - so I should be good there.

Sounds like it should be simple to switch over the two grounds to the new ground bar.

There doesn't appear to be a bonding screw on the neutral bar, but I'll double check that.

Thanks again.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: