Panel box swap, identify, please help!

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-16, 02:17 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Panel box swap, identify, please help!

So we just got a brand new Trane heating and cooling unit installed a few weeks ago. Everything is great with the pre-inspection to get the gas hooked up except for that there is no cover on my panel box. Ideally would like it to just find a cover that fits screw it on and roll with it. But after weeks of looking for a cover and even trying to identify the original box that came with the house has proven very difficult. Would someone please help me identify this box so I can try to find a cover on eBay before I have to swap out the whole box.So before they will hook the gas up for the heating the cover must be replaced and inspected. And it's starting to get a little chilly. Would someone please help me identify this box so I can try and find a used cover on eBay. Your help would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-16, 02:25 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know the box is a 100 amp with I believe 20 spaces even though I count 16, I was told that it's 20. I would really like to avoid swapping the box out because that's very expensive and I would have to do it myself. 39 research I believe I will have to get the power company to pull them meter so I can switch the boxes out. Although I have worked in electrical it's been 15 plus years ago and I am definitely more than a bit Rusty. It has Cutler-Hammer, Bryant, Eaton, and Westinghouse Breakers and it.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-16, 02:32 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If anyone can help please let me know. Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-16, 02:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
  #5  
Old 11-14-16, 02:40 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay I'm on my phone I need to switch to my PC
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-16, 03:11 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is the mystery panel box

I know its not much to work with but maybe someone can help Name:  20161114_005732[1].jpg
Views: 213
Size:  43.5 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-16, 03:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
A used electrical equipment yard is sometimes your best bet. A plan "B" is to make your own out of poster board then take your prototype to a sheet metal shop and have one made.
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-16, 03:34 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hope these are helpful let me know if you have any questions... Thanks!Name:  20161114_005748[1].jpg
Views: 144
Size:  40.4 KBName:  20161114_005718[1].jpg
Views: 113
Size:  32.1 KB

Name:  20161114_005718[1].jpg
Views: 152
Size:  33.0 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-14-16 at 04:36 AM. Reason: Add Rotated Image
  #9  
Old 11-14-16, 03:38 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
oh ok, I was wondering if that was an option, so it just has to screw on? can there be just one rectangle in the middle or does each breaker need to be cut in?
 

Last edited by pcboss; 11-14-16 at 03:56 PM. Reason: rectangle was triangle
  #10  
Old 11-14-16, 04:02 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  20161114_054738[1].jpg
Views: 107
Size:  37.7 KB is anyone aware of a way to identify these old boxes... numbers anywhere? a stamp?
 
  #11  
Old 11-14-16, 04:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
can there be just one triangle in the middle or does each breaker need to be cut in?
The pros will have to answer that. Did you mean rectangle?
 
  #12  
Old 11-14-16, 05:12 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lol, yeah rectangle... its early. I hope we can figure it out soon starting to get cold. I'm fine with the cold, just concerned about the kiddies.
 
  #13  
Old 11-14-16, 07:25 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It probably could be two rectangles, but not one. You need the strip down the center because that's what holds the breakers seated.
 
  #14  
Old 11-14-16, 07:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
It probably could be two rectangles, but not one. You need the strip down the center because that's what holds the breakers seated.
I agree and I also think that is your only hope. There is no way you'll ever find a cover for that old Bryant panel.
 
  #15  
Old 11-15-16, 10:00 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how about this
BRYANT WESTINGHOUSE 12-24SM LOAD CENTER PANEL COVER W SCREWS | eBay

nevermind looks more square than your panel

what does your panel measure. Might be able to use a cover from a new 16 space eaton or cutler hammer panel.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-125...L125/202276724



at the minimal you might need to drill new holes for the mouting screws
 

Last edited by drummin89; 11-15-16 at 10:22 AM.
  #16  
Old 11-16-16, 08:14 PM
G
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's an old Bryant panel with no main breaker. If it were my house, I'd replace it.
Since it has no main breaker, it's not going to pass inspection if you sell.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: