Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How do I convert a 3-way switch to 2-way and use the 2nd switch as a receptacle?

How do I convert a 3-way switch to 2-way and use the 2nd switch as a receptacle?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-16, 03:02 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How do I convert a 3-way switch to 2-way and use the 2nd switch as a receptacle?

I have a 3-way switch controlling a light, but I never use the second switch. However, I need a receptacle where the extra switch is located. Is there a way to connect the wires at the extra switch so that the first switch turns on the light and makes the receptacle hot at the same time?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-16, 03:38 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,794
Received 72 Votes on 68 Posts
Hi,we need some pics of the wiring at the box you plan to install the receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-16, 04:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
(No such thing as a 2-way switch. It is just a regular switch.) Does power come in at the light or one of the switches?
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-16, 05:39 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It comes in at the light.
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-16, 11:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It [power] comes in at the light.
Then you probably have no neutral at either switch* so no power for a receptacle at either switch. Unless you have both a 3-conductor cable (red, black, white) and a 2-conductor cable (black, white), that's five wires plus ground at both switch boxes, easiest may be to run power from a near by receptacle.

*Assumes wired prior to 2011 code.
 
  #6  
Old 11-24-16, 07:09 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was afraid it was like this since it wasn't obvious how I could do it.
Thanks a lot. You've saved me a lot of frustration and probably a couple of shocks.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: