Please help!!! I'm not an electrician

Old 11-29-16, 12:02 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please help!!! I'm not an electrician

Ok so I am not looking to die today due to electrocution. So nothing out the ordinary has been plugged into any receptacles in the whole house. No thunderstorms or obscure amouts of rain. No power outages in the neighborhood or in my house. I was sitting in my living room, in the evening, watching t.v. all of a sudden all the lights in the house went out. All of the outlets still work and nothing in the breaker box was tripped. In about 1 hr the lights turned back on. 2 days later about 10:00 in the morning it did it again for about 3 hrs. Then the lights came back on. I checked every gfi in the house and the only one tripped was the one in the bathroom. When I reset it nothing happened. I assumed it was a bad gfi and changed it out with a new one. It is a gfi with a light switch attached to it. I thought I fixed the problem but the next morning (today) around 7:00 in the morning the lights went out again. I checked the breaker box all is good. I reset all other gfis and all was good. I tried to reset the new gfi in the bathroom and it wont reset. It has been 7 hrs now and the gfi is till tripped and the lights are still off. I did all the troubleshooting I'm capable of and am now at a loss. Please any help with this would be very much appreciated.

Old 11-29-16, 12:30 PM
B
Received 101 Votes on 88 Posts
It is possible the screw(s) clamping wire(s) to your main breaker in the breaker panel is/are loose. Since the only way to disconnect the power to the breaker panel is to remove the power meter, I suggest you get an electrician to tighten the clamps with power connected as the potential for shock is high if you don't understand what you are doing. Hope this is not shocking to you.

Old 11-29-16, 12:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts