Another breaker trip question

Old 11-29-16, 07:19 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another breaker trip question

I've been searching, but haven't found a answer yet.

About me: I'm not a electrician. But I know enough about how it works. I have previously rewired my old house upgrading a 60 amp fuse box to a 200 breaker box meter included. Then wired the entire house and passed the city inspection.

My issue: Wife and I bought a house a little over a year ago. House was built in 1914. One of my requirements of moving was a 200 amp box, I lost that argument. This house was upgraded to a 100 amp box. House is a little over 3000 square feet. 100 is a bit small. But, everything worked and I figured I would upgrade eventually. I know it is needed.

Fast do wear a year and I am beginning to work out in the garage some. It is powered by a single 20 amp breaker ran from the house. I ran my own gas line for heat in the garage and found the line. Direct burial NOT in conduit. I didn't disturb or break the line in any way. So garage is heated by a gas heater with a thermostat. 3 overhead lights, the T-8 style for now. Just replaced the garage door opener with a new 1.5 hp on one double door. There is also a exterior motion sensor light.

Working in my garage I am using wood tool. Router 8 amp, planner 15 amp, table saw 15 amp. Only running one thing at a time.

Suddenly the garage breaker starts tripping. Okay, I'm overloading it. Unplug all unnecessary whatevers. Trips. Not sure what to do, keep working, trips. Go inside to reset and somehow it has also tripped the main 100 amp breaker. Reset everything and clean up.

Trips overnight. Only thing on would be the heater and possibly the sensor light.

Trips today while at work. Heater is only thing on. Think maybe maybe a bad breaker. I replace with one I have left over from the last house.