Thermostat and timer to control baseboard heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-16, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat and timer to control baseboard heater

Hi all,

First of, I'd like to give this post as a reference, which was very helpful:
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...r-timer.html#b

I'd like to have a timer in addition to my thermostat that controls a 10ft baseboard electric heater, which runs at about 2500 watts, or even a little more.

The purpose is that I want the heater to turn off after a certain period of time, regardless the temperature, in case I forget to turn it off.

Would the post above fit this purpose?

Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-16, 10:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,689
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
We can work something out.
So what would you want for the timer.... a countdown type like in the referenced post ?
The baseboard is 240v ?

You could use a much smaller and easier to use relay. The one in the following link gets mounted to a junction box where the baseboard wiring is.... maybe at the main panel.
Aube Technologies
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-16, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really don't know if it's 240v. There's no label or anything. I'm assuming it is just because it's 10 feet long.

The relay you suggested seems to have a steep price though. $45
If itvcan be done on the cheap side, much better.
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-16, 12:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I really don't know if it's 240v
Is it a 2 pole breaker? Are there two wires on the breaker. If so it is 240v.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-16, 12:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are 2 wires coming out of the thermostat.
Please, see photos below.

Name:  thermostat02.jpg
Views: 493
Size:  41.5 KB
Name:  thermostat01.jpg
Views: 486
Size:  50.5 KB
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-16, 02:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would a Programable, 2 Pole, 240 Volt Thermostat solve your problem?
LOOK AT THIS
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-16, 03:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,689
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
That wiring would suggest a 120v heater as only one leg is switched but many times only one hot leg is switched. So we can't tell based on your picture.

In that other thread the timer was probably $20-25 and the contactor around $25-30 so I don't know how cheap you can do it for. It's also dependent on where the relay/contactor would go. What wiring is needed.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-02-16 at 09:24 AM. Reason: typo
  #8  
Old 12-01-16, 03:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I asked if the breaker had two wires. If so it is 240v. You will need to remove the cover from the breaker box to check.
 
  #9  
Old 12-02-16, 06:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about that.
Yes, there are 2 cables. Please see photo below.
Thanks.

Name:  20161202_090419.jpg
Views: 473
Size:  50.2 KB
 
  #10  
Old 12-02-16, 07:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Aactually two wires not cables but I would expect to see a black and a white wire. Pros are going to have to deal with that.

You have two whites wirenutted together at the thermostat which indicates a 2-conductor cable with black and white wires in and a simialar 2-conductor cable out. Are you sure that is the correct breaker?
 
  #11  
Old 12-02-16, 09:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,689
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
The two wires in the breakers are stranded. They are most likely spliced somewhere as the wiring that appears at the thermostat is NM(solid).
 
  #12  
Old 12-02-16, 10:19 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
So you need to measure thr voltage at thermostat so you know the voltage for thrdevice(s) you need to add.
 
  #13  
Old 12-02-16, 12:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What I'm sure of is that this breaker cuts electricity to the baseboard heater AND also to an AC unit elsewhere in the house. If there's a secondary breaker just for the heater, that I don't know.
 
  #14  
Old 12-02-16, 01:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Probably no secondary breaker. Is that the condenser of a centeral AC? Is it connected at the outside disconnect?
 
  #15  
Old 12-02-16, 02:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The AC is a standard wall unit. We don't have central AC.
 
  #16  
Old 12-02-16, 03:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Look in the receptacle box and tell us about the connections.
 
  #17  
Old 12-03-16, 05:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You were right! The AC plug says 240! And the plug's connectors aren't parallel.
The ac goes into an outlet connected to the same breaker as the heater.
 
  #18  
Old 12-07-16, 04:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi all,

Now that I know the baseboard heater is 240v, any ideas on how to add a timer to the thermostat to control the heat both by temperature and time?

Thanks to the help of this forum I got to the point where it seems that using a relay and a regular timer may work.
But what type of relay should I use?

Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: