3-way switch with end receptacle

Old 04-24-01, 04:26 AM
Visiting Guest
Question

I am replacing K&T and want to make sure I run the wires right the first time.

The run I intend will be:

1) 12-2 from junction box to switch #1
2) 12-3 from switch #1 to switch #2
3) 12-2 from both switches to light fixture
4) 12-2 from switch #2 to receptacle

I want the receptacle to be constantly powered.

I have read that this configuration will work but I am miffed as how the receptacle will be constant. Also, what is the purpose of 12-2 being run from both switches to the fixture?

I am sure I misunderstood something along the way. Please set me straight using the simplest terms possible as I am a newbie to this all.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-24-01, 05:50 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You don't need to run 12-2 from both switches to the fixture. Check out this url:

http://www.howstuffworks.com/three-way1.htm

for a diagram. Although this diagram is not exactly "right", it will show the basic principle.
(Code says not to switch the neutral. You'll notice if the bulb is removed in the diagram, you've interrupted the neutral, but not the hot).

Wire your "always hot" outlet to switch 1 (on the left in the diagram), not 2. Wire your fixture into the hot at switch 1.

Below, the dots are just for spacing the dashes are wires.

...........................Box 1.......................Box 2.....................Fixture box
...........................traveler1-------------traveler1
--Hot--------------to always hot outlet &
...........................to fixture hot--------------------------------fixture hot
...........................................................................................fixture neutr--->
--------------------V
...........................from fixture neutral
...........................to common at switch1
...........................traveler2-------------traveler2
--Neutral--------to----------------------common at