Wiring a load center for detached shop

Old 12-07-16, 06:04 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a load center for detached shop

Hi all. My name is Steve and I'm a newbie here.

I've decided to tackle my detached shop wiring myself. I'm putting in an Eaton 125a main lug fed from a 60a breaker in my main panel, using 2-2-2 URD. I will use a separate grounding rod at the shop. I have one 20a 240v circuit, 3 20a circuits for outlets, and 1 15a circuit for lighting.

I've attached a picture of my load center with the wires drawn in. I'd like to get some feedback to see if this is correct.

The top 2 pole breaker is 20a (30a shown), the next 3 are 20a, the bottom one 15a.
Name:  Panel_markup.jpg
Views: 7522
Size:  59.1 KB

Thanks,
Steve

Sponsored Links
Old 12-07-16, 06:28 PM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Welcome to the forums!

Nice sketch.

You must run a ground from the main panel even though you will have a ground rod (which is also required by code for a detached building).

Also, you should use a main breaker panel even though it is a sub. Code says if it takes more than six actions to disconnect all power you need a (local) main disconnect. A main breaker would serve as the disconnect. While you only show 5 breakers, the panel has room for more so you may as well deal with it up front.

Finally, you will need to remove the bonding strap between neutral and ground as this is a sub and neutral and ground are only bonded at the first disconnect (usually the main panel).

I see you show the white on the two pole breaker marked to indicate it is hot. Good!

Otherwise, looks good.

Old 12-07-16, 06:35 PM
Group Moderator
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
In addition to disconnecting the neutral from the ground, you will need to connect the ground bar to the metal case of the sub panel bonding it.

While #2 aluminum is fine for 60 amps it is overkill unless the run is very long. You could use #4 aluminum.

URD also is required to be in conduit when it is not in the ground.