Installing Honeywell RPLS740B switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-16, 09:10 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing Honeywell RPLS740B switch

I am trying to place my normal switch controlling my outdoor lights with a Honeywell RPLS740B Programmable Wall Switch. The Honeywell switch has a white, black, and blue wire on it. In the box the wire controlling the outdoor lights has a white, black, and green (ground) wire. I am not sure how to connect the Honeywell switch to these wires. If I connect the white to white and connect the blue and black wire from the Honeywell to the black wire the switch powers on but will not turn on the lights outside. Any help would be appreciated.Name:  IMG_3435.jpg
Views: 1353
Size:  19.3 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-16, 09:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If the two wires.... white and black..... from that 12-2 yellow cable go directly to the switch then you do not have a neutral connection. That timer requires a neutral.

You would need to purchase a timer that states on it "no neutral required".
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-16, 09:56 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, that is unfortunate. Would you have a recommendation for a timer switch that would work?
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-16, 10:59 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
This one does not require a neutral, but I haven't used it so can't comment on it's performance.....

https://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-ST.../dp/B005H3AXKM
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-16, 01:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
This one will also work. Be advised that most timers that don't require a neutral require a lighting load of at least 40 watts. There is no way around that.

Programmable Timer Switch (RPLS530A) | Honeywell
 
  #6  
Old 12-08-16, 04:47 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
And I can test that with a multimeter?
 
  #7  
Old 12-08-16, 04:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
And I can test that with a multimeter?
I'm sorry... test what ? .......................................
 
  #8  
Old 12-08-16, 05:32 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You said I need a load of at least 40 watts, can I test that with a multimeter?
 
  #9  
Old 12-08-16, 06:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You said I need a load of at least 40 watts, can I test that with a multimeter?
That means you must have at least a 40 watt incandescent light bulb. A CFL or a LED bulb won't work.
 
  #10  
Old 04-14-17, 06:49 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Intermatic ST01 In Wall Timer no neutral and batterry

Found this through a search and adding this response in case others stumble upon the thread. Would the Intermatic ST01 with no neutral required (does require a battery) and LED compatible work?

Intermatic ST01
15 Amp Astronomic Digital In-Wall Timer - White
Controls LED and CFL lights
24-hour or 7-day digital timer with up to 20 On/Off events
Astronomic/random features, auto daylight saving time adjustment
 
  #11  
Old 04-14-17, 07:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
That timer was mentioned in post 4. Yes it will work as it uses a 3v lithium battery.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: