Ground bar on sub panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-16, 09:57 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground bar on sub panel

Hey guys I had a sub panel put in my house and read that you have to keep neutrals and grounds on separate bars. Just wanted to make sure I have to right bar before I hook anything up. Is this the ground bar?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-16, 10:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,228
Received 597 Votes on 562 Posts
That is a ground bar since it's connected to the incoming ground wire and bonded to the metal box.

There should be an isolated bus bar fed with a white wire for neutral..... correct ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-16, 10:38 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I think so. Here is a photo of the other side. I also have a quick question. The boxes I bought for my receptacles have ground screws on them as well. Do I use both the ground screw and the ground bar, just the bar, or both?

Name:  sub2.jpg
Views: 285
Size:  31.8 KB
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-16, 10:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,228
Received 597 Votes on 562 Posts
That's the neutral bar hiding in the darkness on the left side.

When you wire using metal boxes...... the ground gets connected to the box with a green ground screw and then connects to the receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-16, 10:55 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ah, I see. Thank you for the help. So connect the ground in the receptacle box on the green screw and then pigtail together the ground wire and connect to the receptacles in the box and on the other end stick the ground on the ground bar? Would that be good?
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-16, 11:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,228
Received 597 Votes on 562 Posts
Yup.... sounds like a plan.

There are many ways of connecting the grounds in a box. I like to leave one ground wire from one cable long. I wrap it around the green screw, twist the other grounds to it and then use a green wire nut. The green wire nut combines the grounds and allows the long one to connect to the device.

Name:  greenie.jpg
Views: 196
Size:  15.2 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: