Installing 4 wire spa in 3 wire house

Old 12-10-16, 11:05 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing 4 wire spa in 3 wire house

Hello, this is my first post, please let me know if I break any of the rules or regulations. I have been a carpenter for approx 10 years, so I have been around electrical, though not my fortè. My mother was given a spa/hot tub (what is the correct name) thank the good lord, right! She called a local electrician to see about hooking it up. Living in rural Glendive MT, the choices are lacking. When he arrived I was present, I played ignorant to judge his character and learn something. I learned that he would charge over double for the GFCI box, after I had to tell him that one was required, and the specs. Not to mention a few other less than ethical tactics. So after many hours of googling, here I am.

My mothers house is based on the 3phase system. I'm no electrician, I came to this conclusion beacuse coming into the top of the breaker there are 3 wires. While I was making sure the power lines were <10ft, I noticed there seemed to be 2 sets of 3 wires going into the home. I don't know if that is correct or relevant.

The spa and GFCI box requires a 4phase system. What I learned is 3phase is h+h+g, 4phase is h+h+g+n. So I'm missing a neutral. In order to gain a neutral would I be required to have my local power company to run one from the main to the breaker?

Is there a way for me to CAREFULLY add a neutral wire?

The breaker box also seems nearly full of breakers. There is a reciprocal where the hot tub will be installed. I was planning on increasing it to a 220V. I have done similar upgrades before, but not confident on doing it again. Could you please include a simple link to linking 2 110V breakers, or upgrading with one 220V breaker. Which ever you would recommend.

I was almost prepared to install everything until I noticed that detail. I studied the manuals and diagrams found at, http://www.calspas.com/downloads/man...nual_Rev_E.pdf