Is this the proper way to wire these circuits?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-16, 08:24 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 187
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this the proper way to wire these circuits?

I want to have two circuits for the lights in my pole barn. I drew this sketch to show how I plan on doing the wiring. I colored the hot wire red for clarity, but it will be black. I will be using #14 wire inside of 1/2" EMT. Is this the correct way to wire this? I hope its easy to see.Thanks. John.

Name:  electric detail.jpg
Views: 315
Size:  33.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-20-16 at 05:41 PM. Reason: added updated pic
  #2  
Old 12-20-16, 04:05 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I don't see a problem with the wiring. How long are the runs? You have only two lights, or will you be tapping off the two for additional? Remember you can only have a 15 amp breaker for each circuit with the 14 gauge wire, which I am assuming will be THWN/THHN...

Depending on which code cycle your location uses, you may be required to run a neutral to the switch location and cap it off. Check first.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-16, 06:55 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,740
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Code Question

Sorry, my post was too late.
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-16, 07:27 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Usually with a conduit system a neutral isn't required at a switch because it can be added later if needed.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-16, 04:56 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 187
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Each run from the panel to last the light, will be around 100 feet. There will be 8 lights on each circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 12-21-16, 11:14 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,564
Received 160 Votes on 142 Posts
You probably already know this, but if the picture is a junction box - you could combine the two conduits from the panel to the junction box. One 1/2" conduit can take 2 hots, 2 neutrals, and one ground.

Regardless, all grounds get connected in each box. (no desire to keep grounds separated like neutrals).

-Mike
 
  #7  
Old 12-22-16, 07:18 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 187
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could I also use one conduit between the box pictured and the light switches? Or, are 4 hots not allowed?
 
  #8  
Old 12-22-16, 07:45 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
You can install multiple hots within the conduit fill limits.
 
  #9  
Old 12-22-16, 07:34 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Maximum conduit fill for 1/2" EMT is 9 #12 conductors. You mentioned you are using #14 but I suggest you keep the maximum wire count to 9 because derating issues start if there is more then 9 wires.
 
  #10  
Old 12-23-16, 09:51 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 187
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for the help. I'll keep you posted. Merry Christmas.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: