45 Year Old Home with Various Electrical Issues

Old 12-21-16, 02:06 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
45 Year Old Home with Various Electrical Issues

Hey All,

This is my first time posting to the forum, so i do apologize in advance if i am asking a redundant question.

My wife and i bought a 45 year old home earlier this year, and have intentions to do some work ourselves in order to make it perfect. Due to a few issues that arose on the inspection, we over looked a few minor issues in order to get the major issues fixed.

With that being said, I have 3 electrical issues that i want to try and "fix" myself.

1. My breaker box isnt very organised. There is no ryhme or reason to the breakers, and there is actually a space after the last breakers on each side. One has plastic plate covering the opening, and the other side is just wide opened. Is there any way that i can go through and find all of the outlets that coincide with each breaker?

2. There are two outlets in my kitchen that are not working. I have replaced both of the receptacles, and gone through a handful of others trying to find an open tap with no luck. Any advice here would be greatly appreciated.

3. I have a dimming light in my living room that sometimes flickers. There is no correlation to any high voltage devices powering on. I did have to change the dimmer when we first moved in because the metal plate would get very hot. I put in a plastic slide dimmer, and that seems to have resolved the heating issue, but it still causes me to lose some sleep at night.

Again, this is my first time posting. I dont know what i dont know, making it very difficult to ask the proper question. I am very "handy" and a quick learner, so i would like to try and do it myself, plus i have a handful of friends that are electricians that have said they could help me if i supply the beer and burgers. (After we are done working, of course )

Thanks and God Bless!
B.Cox

Old 12-21-16, 02:15 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator