Dimmer switches and lack of room

Old 12-28-16, 07:16 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dimmer switches and lack of room

Hi Everyone...

So, I'm not a professional electrician, but with a lot of practice and reading I've been doing my own electrical work for around 15 years now, and I consider myself to be a fairly experienced DIYer. I'm comfortable with the basics...replacing switches/outlets, installing lights, even some more advanced things like installing a new box and running Romex cable / branching off of an existing outlet. I'm an IT guy by trade so, I have a high comfort level with electronics and gadgets in general.

That being said, I feel like dimmer switches are my mortal enemy. How concerned do I need to be that when I'm putting these back in the wall, no matter how hard I try to do tidy job, I always feel like I'm having to "cram" it all in there? Yes, I fold the wires...I'm pretty anal retentive and I like things to be clean and neat regardless. But whenever I install a dimmer, I feel like things look like a mess in there. And then I read all of this stuff online about "cramming too much in a box could cause problems / start an electrical fire" etc. etc., but maybe my definition of "too much" and others' definition of "too much" are two different things anyway.

I'm in the process installing a bunch of Leviton "smart" switches in my house. I just finished replacing a 4-gang box's worth of switches. Two of them are regular switches, and the other two are dimmers. I feel like I had a hell of a time getting all the wires back in there, and while I'm confident my connections are good, I'm not confident things aren't "stuffed" in there. It was a real pain, since dimmers don't have screw terminals (why, I don't know...I hate this about them), and since these are "smart switches" which also require a neutral connection, each dimmer meant 4 or 5 wire nuts to cram back in there (one of them was a 3-way switch so...5 wirenuts just for this one switch!!!).