Main lugs on panel


  #1  
Old 12-28-16, 07:15 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Main lugs on panel

Is it necessary to use noalox for a 10ga copper wire that is supplying a subpanel? If so, use it on the two hots and neutral? The lugs on the panel say al/cu, does this mean it is okay to use a copper wire or aluminum wire to the lug? Thought copper to aluminum needed a special connector? Is the lug aluminum or steel? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-16, 07:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Is it necessary to use noalox for a 10ga copper wire
No it is primarily for aluminum.
The lugs on the panel say al/cu, does this mean it is okay to use a copper wire or aluminum wire to the lug?
Yes.

What is the minimum size wire the lug will take? Sometimes with wire as small as #10 you need to pigtail larger wire.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-30-16 at 09:50 AM. Reason: Wrong answer removed.
  #3  
Old 12-28-16, 10:21 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The panel says its listed for 12 al or 14cu wire for the lug. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-16, 11:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Good then you are good to go for 10.
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-16, 04:51 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,585
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
Where is that listing for 12al or 14cu ,on a breaker?
 
  #6  
Old 12-29-16, 05:05 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No not the breaker rated but it is a 2 space 4 circuit small panel that is rated to accept 12al 14cu.
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-16, 09:59 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,585
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
If that is the case then you can't use a 10,,just curious,what is the brand and Mdl of that panel?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 12-29-16, 10:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Geo wrote:
If that is the case then you can't use a 10
I interpreted the answer to refer to minimum size not maximum size because I had earlier asked in post #2:
What is the minimum size wire the lug will take?
So if that is minimum size I suspect #10 is within the maximum size. Is that correct, Autostop?
 
  #9  
Old 12-29-16, 01:26 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,585
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
Well that's the normal marking min/max ,not the way I inturperting the information.
HNY!
Geo
 
  #10  
Old 12-29-16, 05:41 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_0366[1].jpg
Views: 449
Size:  52.8 KBSquare D QO24L70SCP panel 2space 4 circuits 70 amps. I am misinterpreting online catalog? Thanks.
 
  #11  
Old 12-29-16, 05:45 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ray the panel is a Square D QO24L70SCP 2space 4 circuit 70 amp panel picture from online catalog. Please advise if this accepts wire size #14-#4 cu wire. The minimum size I read is #14 cu for the main lugs and I guess for the neutral as well. I could be reading the spec incorrectly. Could you check it out please. thank you for your help.Attachment 74986 Dont know why picture came out to side. Also, I Think a qo 60 amp 2pole breaker is rated to accept #8-#2 cu wire. If the breaker does not accept the 10 gauge wire then why would the lugs?
 

Last edited by autostop; 12-29-16 at 06:15 PM.
  #12  
Old 12-30-16, 04:47 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,585
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
14 cu smallest and 4 cu largest ,just curious why you are feeding a 70 Amp panel with a #10 ?
Geo
 
  #13  
Old 12-30-16, 07:23 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Geo,

#10 wire is already there.
 
  #14  
Old 12-30-16, 09:47 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,151
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
Thought copper to aluminum needed a special connector? Is the lug aluminum or steel?
The lugs will be tin plated aluminum. You never want copper touching anything aluminum. The tin plating negates the copper touching aluminum. Most lugs today are all tin plated aluminum. NoAlox is for aluminum. If you want to use an antioxidant compound on a copper termination you should use Kopr-Shield.


http://www.specialized.net/Specializ...-8Oz-2265.aspx
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: