Replace front panel of circuit breaker box


  #1  
Old 12-29-16, 11:53 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replace front panel of circuit breaker box

Mind if I steal this thread for a question? I'm flipping a condo with an old GE circuit breaker box and would like to replace the front panel. I don't see any of the circuit breakers, or anything directly attached to the front panel. Can I make this cosmetic switch or is their connections I don't know about?


Mod note: moved from this thread: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ction-box.html
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-16, 12:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Normally the cover has no connection to any of the panel internals. It simply screws to the enclosure.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-16, 12:52 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
Of course there is the ever proverbial question......why? Is it non functional? Damaged? Rusted? Just curious.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-16, 01:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,953 Votes on 2,664 Posts
Unless the cover is destroyed.... you will most likely need to keep using.
It's nearly impossible to locate old panel covers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: