Bathroom wiring clarity

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-16, 05:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 602
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Bathroom wiring clarity

Hi,

I've gone through a lot of posts and web sites and read info, but most everything I find is contradicted somewhere else.

I have two 60's bathrooms we're going to redo and a brand new one in the basement. All are under 50 sqft. Each will have 1 outlet, 1 exhaust fan, 1 shower/tub light, and some sort of ceiling fixtures.

The one point in agreement is that the outlet in each bath must be 20A, GFCI, and not feed anything outside that room. After that, it's all contradictions. So:
  1. Must the outlet be the only thing on the circuit or can it power lights and ceiling fan?
  2. [*]
  3. [*]
  4. Can the fan and lights be on one switch?
  5. [*]

Thanks guys!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-16, 06:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,577
Received 415 Votes on 388 Posts
  1. Must the outlet be the only thing on the circuit or can it power lights and ceiling fan? All connected devices must be in the same room. Recp/lights/fan OK.
  2. If not, can the lights and fan be on the same circuit? Yes.
  3. Can the fan and lights be on one switch? Yes.
  4. Can the fan be automatic and no switch? Yes.... if that's really what you want.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-16, 12:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 602
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So to be clear on question #1:

I can bring 20A to the sole bathroom outlet, then tap off to the switch which controls both lights and fan and I amwithin code?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-16, 12:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,956
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Only if the circuit serves only one bathroom .
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-16, 12:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 602
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok - thanks for clarifying.
 
  #6  
Old 01-01-17, 08:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,242
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
Don't forget you also have to use 12AWG for fan and lights since you will be powering them off 20A circuit.

Personally, I'd just connect fan and light to existing light circuit and pull new 20A for outlet only. You have to terminate existing circuit somewhere with a junction box anyway. Why not make use of it?
 
  #7  
Old 01-02-17, 07:50 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
The one point in agreement is that the outlet in each bath must be 20A, GFCI, and not feed anything outside that room.
The circuit must be 20 amps, but not the receptacle, a 15 amp device would be normal and compliant. Typically you never need to use a 20 amp GFCI receptacle or duplex receptacle anywhere in a house.
 
  #8  
Old 01-14-17, 03:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 602
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm at the point of pulling wire (the old 14g had to go). I'm pulling 12/2 NMW to feed the bathroom. The way it's set-up, it would be easier for me to bring power to the switch box (just one switch for everything) then feed the GFI outlet box, then go on from there to lights and fan.

I don't want the GFI switched, it needs to be live always. So... can I run 12/3 from the switch, to the GFI box, use one leg (red) to feed the GFI outlet (unswitched), the other leg (black) to feed the fan and lights (switched), sharing the neutral in the GFI box by connecting to the GFI w/a pigtail?

I hope that's clear.

LMK...

Thanks guys!
 
  #9  
Old 01-14-17, 05:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,956
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
You could run a 12-2 to the gfi from the switch box. From the switch box run out to the fan and or light.
 
  #10  
Old 01-14-17, 05:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 602
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@pcboss - that will mean the outlet is switched. I don't want the outlet switched.

So is my approach valid and within code or does it need to be changed somehow?
 
  #11  
Old 01-14-17, 06:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes you can use 12-3 as you suggested. Common convention would be to use red as switched and black as unswitched. The neutral would be pigtailed before the GFCI.
 
  #12  
Old 01-14-17, 07:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 602
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got it -Thanks for the help Ray!
 
  #13  
Old 01-14-17, 09:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,956
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
No, you would splice the power before the switch to feed the gfi.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: