How does one show three switches on a floor plan?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-31-16, 07:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How does one show three switches on a floor plan?

I need to show a lighting diagram on a floor plan, but I'm not sure how. I want to show three switches to a light source and am not sure if they should all be designated as 4-way switches and I'm not sure how to show the arched lines between the switches and light sources. I thought 3-way and 4-way switches designated the type of switch. When there are three switches to a light source, isn't only one of the switches (the middle one) actually a 4-way switch and the other two, 3-way switches? Why would you show all three switches as 4-way? If I went to the building store to pick up switches for a three switch system, would I get three 4-way switches or two 3-way switches and one 4-way switch? Say I have a bedroom loft and on the floor plan I want to show a switch at the bottom of the stairs, one at the top of the stairs, and one at the bedside and these switches control two sconces in the loft, how would I draw that?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-31-16, 08:02 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Here's a diagram of what you are doing. Two three ways and a four way. Designated on your drawing as "S3" and "S4".

Name:  4-way_switches_position.png
Views: 642
Size:  9.9 KB
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-16, 08:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On a floor plan, place the three switches, connect the switches with a dashed, arched line. Make the two switches at each end S3 and the one in the middle S4. Draw a dashed, arched line from one of the S3 to the closest light and connect the lights. It's as simple as that.

Since one of the switches is on a different floor and presumably a separate drawing page, use a dashed line to a Callout describing the connection to the other floor. Do this one each floor plan.
 

Last edited by Electromen; 12-31-16 at 08:44 AM.
  #4  
Old 12-31-16, 11:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,398
Received 12 Votes on 12 Posts
Name:  possible-damage-house-wiring-diagrams-support-mazon-single-alternator-motor-limit-accelerator-ac.jpg
Views: 5165
Size:  48.1 KB


One example similar to what Electro said.
If folks only have B/W plotters, then dashing works well too!
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-16, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is something like this drawing correct?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 12-31-16, 02:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it's mostly correct. From the last switch to the first light and light to light you only need 14/2. That's if Power is at the Entry switch.
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-16, 06:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I thought that might be true after I posted it. Thank You!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: