Dryer or receptacle?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-17, 08:26 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dryer or receptacle?

Hello,

I recently had my washer/dryer hookups moved to another area of my house so I could turn my laundry room into a half bath. While the contractor was doing that, there were many signs that the contractor was not as skilled as I first thought.

When my new washer/dryer were delivered, the dryer did not have power. The contractor came back and supposedly fixed the mistake in his previous wiring. The dryer had power. However, I discovered later, that the dryer was not heating.

My question...is there anything in the 220 wiring that the contractor did that could prevent the dryer from heating, even though it has power? I'm trying to determine if I need to bring in an electrician or my dryer merchant.

Any assistance anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-17, 09:03 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
First off it should be 240 not 220, Do you have a meter? Dryer will run if 120 is there but not heat. With meter make sure there is 240 volts to the outside terminals in back of dryer 120 volts to center and each outside terminal. If any of these readings is missing you have a wiring problem. A simple analog meter can be bought at most hardware stores usually around 10$ or less. Do not get a non contact type.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-17, 09:27 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's the problem!!! My idiot contractor did a 220v connection. Thank you!
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-17, 09:31 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
My idiot contractor did a 220v connection.
He couldn't have. Houses haven't had 220v in more than seven decades. Do you mean he hooked it up 240 instead of 120/240?
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-17, 09:33 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
That's the problem!!! My idiot contractor did a 220v connection. Thank you!
No, that's not the problem. 220 vs 240 is just a terminology difference. The actual voltage is 240, 220 voltage is from years ago.
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-17, 10:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
My idiot contractor did a 220v connection. Thank you!
If your contractor is that incompetent at electrical work I believe I would want a real electrician to come in and correct any and all other problems he may have created.
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-17, 02:07 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm trying to determine if I need to bring in an electrician or my dryer merchant.
Generally the guys that deliver appliances do not check any electrical.
If there's a 3 or 4 prong receptacle behind the dryer, they hook up a cord and plug it in.

Merchants have more experienced installers. The merchant might offer to send one of them out and tell you if it's the house wiring or something else.
I would give them a call before calling an electrician.
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-17, 08:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Did they use the old breaker?
 
  #9  
Old 01-04-17, 10:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
If there's a 3 or 4 prong receptacle behind the dryer, they hook up a cord and plug it in.
This is true, but someone qualified needs to look over their shoulders. The delivery guys can usually install a 3 or 4 wire cord alright., but they are not always installed correctly from what I have seen. The box stores don't seem too interested in training their delivery guys on how to do this correctly. I've seen more than one 4 wire dryer cord installed with the ground jumper still installed to the neutral terminal.
 
  #10  
Old 01-04-17, 10:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I've seen more than one 4 wire dryer cord installed with the ground jumper still installed to the neutral terminal.
And there was one post here where that happened. That would not cause the dryer not to work but it does make the actions of the delivery people suspect.

Till the O/P comes back though we are just spinning our wheels.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: