All electrical outlets in 1 room not working...???

Old 01-03-17, 02:26 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All electrical outlets in 1 room not working...???

First post here. I am a noobie/beginner home DIY'er.

PREREQUISITE:

I have no electrical knowledge or background. But I am very technical minded and am very analytical and logical when it comes to solving everyday technical, electrical, mechanical engineering type stuff around home, work and play. I have watched a couple videos on youtube about basic electrical wiring, outlets and switches. I have some experience replacing light switches and electrical outlets inside my home/apartment.

PROBLEM:

All electrical outlets (4) inside my bedroom are NOT WORKING.

POSSIBLE ISSUES:

1. An electrical short inside one of the 4 electrical outlets. Therefore causing a blockage in the rooms wiring system and not letting electricity circulate to the other 3 outlets. Therefore...I would need to find out which outlet short circuited and replace that one.

2. An electrical short inside the main breaker/fuse. Therefore...no electricity flow to my whole bedroom as the main breaker controls the electricity to this single bedroom. Therefore...requiring me to replace the breaker at the main breaker box that controls the electricity flow to my bedroom.

BACK STORY / SCENARIO:

I wanted to vacuum my bedroom. So...I took my Dyson into the bedroom and I plugged it into one of the outlets that was closest to me at the moment. After about 10 mins of vacuuming...I went to turn off the vacuum.

That's when I noticed that my computer, monitor and light stand that was plugged into another outlet inside my bedroom as well as the vacuum...all turned off completely. The vacuum would not turn back on as well as my computer, monitor and light stand. I went to check all the outlet receptacles with my cell phone and cell phone charger and found out that they are all now not working like before.

VARIABLES: