Need to Disconnect / bypass a 4-way Light Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-09-17, 07:34 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need to Disconnect / bypass a 4-way Light Switch

I am trying to disconnect a Cooper 4-way light switch. Current I have 3 switches that can turn on and off my kitchen light fixture and I want to remove one of the switches. I carefully disconnected the switch remembering where the 4 wires originally connected to the switch. Of course when I disconnected the switch the lights do not work. The two terminals at the top are gold and say "IN". The two terminal connections on the bottom of the switch are black and say "OUT".

I am sure if I connect some or all the wires in some configuration with wire nuts the other 2 remaining switches will work the kitchen fixture.

Can someone give me some guidance. Thanks
 
Attached Images     
  #2  
Old 01-09-17, 07:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You connect the wires that were on in to the ones to out. If white bypassed the switch and was just connected white to white then black to black and red to red.
 
  #3  
Old 01-09-17, 07:47 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply. So if I am looking at the Rear image I posted. I connect the the top wire on the left to the bottom wire on the left and connect the top wire on the right to the bottom wire on the right. Is that what you are saying? Thanks for your help.
 
  #4  
Old 01-09-17, 07:56 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, that will work. .
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-17, 08:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help.

I really appreciate it.
 
  #6  
Old 01-09-17, 08:12 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Did it work? .
 
  #7  
Old 01-09-17, 08:34 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will not be able to try until this evening when I get home from work.
 
  #8  
Old 01-09-17, 09:28 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was reviewing your post and might a bit confused as to the wire color.

Coming IN to the Switch the terminals on the TOP have 2 RED Wires

Coming OUT to the Switch the terminals on the BOTTOM have one BLACK Wire and one RED Wire.

No White Wires

Do I still follow your suggested fix? Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 01-09-17, 09:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I assumed you had cable. Do you instead have conduit? Please post a picture of the junction box and wires. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html

Basically you should have two wires coming into the box be it cable or conduit and two wires leaving the box. The two entering wires are connected to the two wires leaving. Wires are interchangeable so which wire in is connected to which wire out doesn't matter.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-09-17 at 12:30 PM.
  #10  
Old 01-09-17, 11:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disconnect / bypass 4-way light switch

Okay i went home at lunch and got into the Junction Box which now explains why there are three RED wires. Picture attached.

There are two cables coming into the Junction Box and in wired as follows:

Cable at top Right
Red Wire Going to Top Right Terminal of Light Switch
Black Cable wire changed to Red with an Orange wire nut gong to top left terminal
White wire to wire Nut

Cable at top left
Red Wire going to lower right Terminal of Switch
Black wire going to lower left terminal
white wire to wire nut

I hope that you can help me. Thanks
 
Attached Images   
  #11  
Old 01-09-17, 11:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
You have two cables coming in to the box.

Connect white to white, red to red and black to black. That's it.
 
  #12  
Old 01-09-17, 12:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Told you so in post #2.
 
  #13  
Old 01-09-17, 12:31 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks I will try tonight and let you know. Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 01-10-17, 06:01 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It worked! Thanks

I appreciate it.
 
  #15  
Old 01-10-17, 11:11 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: