Fried ground wire in screen printing flash cure dryer

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-17, 08:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fried ground wire in screen printing flash cure dryer

(Sorry if this thread is in the wrong sub-forum. Couldn't find exactly what I needed. Feel free to move it if required.)

I have a flash cure dryer that I use as a screen printer. (It's basically a box with heat elements in it that hovers above the shirts to dry them - like this). It was brand new and about 3 hours into using it, one of the heating elements went out. I opened it up today, pulled back the insulation, and found that the ground was fried causing the wire going to the heating element to break off. I need to replace the ground.

What could be causing this? Overload? If I replace the ground wire will it just happen again? Do you think I need to replace the whole heating element as well? I'm certainly no expert here. I just don't want this thing to become a fire hazard. I'll be happy if I can get it working again but I plan to get a better dryer and only keep this one as a back up since it's obviously not the best quality.

The plug is a 20 amp, going to a 20 amp socket, going to a 20 amp breaker. The circuit is properly grounded and good.

Thanks for any advice you can offer!!

Inside the dryer.
Name:  IMG_20170111_124317262.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  25.2 KB

Close up of the bad connection.
Name:  IMG_20170111_124322818.jpg
Views: 195
Size:  26.8 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-11-17, 08:35 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,001
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Is that the dryer or house wiring.

Normally the ground only carries currenct in the event of a fault.
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-17, 09:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The pics are of the inside of the dryer.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-17, 10:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Do you mean the neutral wire burnt?
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-17, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct. It's the one that leads back to the switch on the right side in this pic-

Name:  IMG_20170111_140817125.jpg
Views: 206
Size:  46.5 KB
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-17, 10:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,001
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Neutrals do not get switched.
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-17, 11:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well whatever goes back to the switch to complete the current.

In any case I think the problem might be that whoever built this thing had a loose connection at one of the nuts. I'm gonna replace all the wires in the dryer housing with 12 gauge. I think these ones are too small.
 
  #8  
Old 01-11-17, 11:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
That is the hot not ground or neutral. If it is new I would return it.
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-17, 01:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't return it. Flaky ebay seller! Otherwise I would.
 
  #10  
Old 01-12-17, 01:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,457
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
I'd recommend 250 deg C wire: 14awg is ok https://www.amazon.com/High-temperat.../dp/B001ALN0JG
Also, get the ceramic wire nuts.
You are wiring to 120Volts correct?
I hope that insulation is fire proof.
 
  #11  
Old 01-12-17, 02:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the recommendations.

It is 125V.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: