Sub panel location question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-17, 09:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sub panel location question

I'm finishing my basement and want to add a sub panel for all the electrical. I already have a large panel in the basement with a transfer switch for a built-in backup generator. My question is is I can place the sub panel below the transfer switch? The panel is mounted flush to the concrete wall so it will not be flush with the finished wall surface. I'm going to frame around this area and add a cover access door over the whole setup.
Name:  20170112_235806.jpg
Views: 501
Size:  26.7 KB

If I add the sub panel to the right of the main panel and below the transfer switch, it would make routing the outputs up the wall pretty long. Maybe I can immediately route the wires to the side and up through the finished wall?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-17, 09:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,948
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
You can, but the neutral bars may make it more difficult .
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-17, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure what you mean by the N bars by be more difficult. Could you explain?
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-17, 01:24 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Side entry KOs on panels are right on top of the neutral bars. It can be tough to work in those panels. I'd recommend instead using a little extra wire and entering the bottom of the panel, perhaps with a chase or some conduits run down the wall.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-17, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got it. I understand now. Thanks for the input
 
  #6  
Old 01-13-17, 07:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,059
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
The panel is mounted flush to the concrete wall
It looks to me more like a surface installation than flush.
 
  #7  
Old 01-13-17, 07:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Haha. Yep. You are rigjt. Wrong word. I wish I could pull it off and flush mount to drywall but not worth it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: