Connecting meter base to sub panel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-17, 09:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting meter base to sub panel?

I'm wiring my own new home. Tomorrow I will run the conductors from the meter base to a sub panel. The sub panel will have a feeder that goes to my service breaker panel. My question. When I connect the (2) hot cables from the meter base to the sub panel-does it matter which pole on the sub panel I connect each hot lead to on the bus bars? Thanks for your help.
Jim in Tennessee
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-17, 09:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,068
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
When the wires leave the meter base they go to a main panel or a disconnect panel first
and then to a sub panel.

Basically there needs to be a disconnect withing 6' or so of the meter.

There will be three wires from the meter to the first panel.... 2 hots and a neutral.
The hots can go on either side.
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-17, 09:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I should have explained my install a bit clearer. The first panel out of my meter base does have a disconnect and actually a few positions for breakers (which I won't be using). This is the panel that my feeder to the house main breaker panel is routed. Then out of the meter base panel is another set of conductors that go to a 2nd panel. I guess this would be the official sub panel. The power from this panel will supply my HVAC, wood shop and probably hot tub. I have a 400 amp service. Thanks for helping me with the hot wire position question. I was pretty sure it did not matter which side I connected them.
Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-17, 10:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The first panel out of my meter base does have a disconnect and actually a few positions for breakers
That is your main panel. The main panel is the first panel with a fuse or breaker. All other panels connected to it are subpanels.
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-17, 05:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you to everyone for your help
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-17, 08:57 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Any more questions come on back.
 
  #7  
Old 01-14-17, 01:10 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
The first panel out of my meter base does have a disconnect and actually a few positions for breakers (which I won't be using). This is the panel that my feeder to the house main breaker panel is routed. Then out of the meter base panel is another set of conductors that go to a 2nd panel. I guess this would be the official sub panel. The power from this panel will supply my HVAC, wood shop and probably hot tub. I have a 400 amp service.
I hope the OP comes back. I was wondering if the two subpanels are each 200 amps and if they are both located at the house, I know the first one was.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: