Can i use a neutral wire from a different circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-17, 04:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can i use a neutral wire from a different circuit?

Hi everyone, im trying to in install some new recessed lights in one of my bedrooms. The room has a switch for a half hot outlet. i was wondering if i could use the switched hot wire from one circuit but use a neutral from a different nearby circuit which powers a smoke detector. If i can do this, it would make life alot easier because the outlet wires are almost inaccessible.

any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 01-15-17, 06:06 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,250
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
No, the code requires that all conductors of the circuit be grouped in the same cable or raceway.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-17, 06:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No you can not use a neutral from another circuit. Neutral must be from the same circuit and in the same sheath, conduit, or other raceway.

Why not make the receptacle always hot and run the power to the recessed lights from the switch? Even if there is no neutral now, just a switch loop, the switch loop can be converted to power in to the switch.
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-17, 06:39 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks guys. Ray can you please explain how to do that?
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-17, 07:14 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A picture of the switch wiring would help. Here's a link:
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

Taking power from a switched receptacle is one of the easiest ways to add ceiling lights. You need access to the switched receptacle.

Ideally there will only be a black and white wire at the switch.
At the receptacle, this cable can be changed to be a hot and neutral wire rather than a switch loop.

That gives you a hot and neutral at the switch and you can run a cable up to the lights from the switch.
 
  #6  
Old 01-15-17, 07:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
To add to Brian's explanation you will need to change out the receptacle to one that has the brass tab intact.*

*You could pigtail the two brass sides of the existing receptacle but that increases the number of wires in an already crowded box and more complicated.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-17, 07:39 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok cool that helped, i will do this tomorrow.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: