One light / outlet per breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-17, 12:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One light / outlet per breaker

I read once that in some commercial applications it's common to have separate breakers for every outlet and light fixture. I assume the reasoning for this is that if one breaker pops open it won't interrupt power to anything else. Would there be any merit in wiring a house or shop / garage like this? It would seem cost prohibitive for a little more convenience, but can anyone think of a reason to do this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-17, 12:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,100
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I've never seen a single light on a single breaker. I have seen a single outlet on a single breaker for a dedicated purpose like for a computer, copier or similar.

As far as a house goes.....
It would be extremely wasteful to have everything on it's own breaker.
It would require a lot of unnecessary cable and several breakers panels.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-17, 04:44 AM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 868
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Most commercial garage door opener manufactures require a single circuit per opener.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-17, 06:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 825
Received 10 Votes on 6 Posts
When I built my 16 X 24 shop just for piddling & enjoyment, I had a friend teach me how to wire the breaker panel & all the lights. outlets etc.

On the 24 ft walls, I have 4 - 120 v outlets & one 220 v outlet each.
I have 2 - 120 v outlets one one breaker each. Of course the 220 is on its own double breaker.

On the 16 ft walls, I have 2 - 115 v outlets.
The north wall has one breaker with both 120 v outlets on that breaker. The south wall has one breaker with both 120 v outlets on that breaker.


In the ceiling, I have 4 - 48" shop lights & 4 - outlets... yes in the ceiling..... cause that's what I wanted..... so I could hang a electrical extension cord reels from the ceiling for convenience.
I have 2 - outlets & 2 - florescent lights on one breaker & the other two outlets & lights on another breaker.

Why? Cause that what I wanted. My friend couldn't believe that I wanted to spend the extra money for a panel box that size, buy that many more breakers & that much extra romex to do it this way. I know he understood why I wanted to do it that way, but, it was no point in it. It wasn't worth the extra expense when it could have been done for probably 1/2 the money, but....... that's the way I want it.
Safer? Maybe not. Less load on each outlet etc? Maybe, but its over kill... but, its the way I wanted it.

Will a $15,000 Kia be enough to get you back & forth to work? Sure, but I want a $50,000 F250 Platinum 3/4 ton Super Duty 4X4. Why? Cause that's what I want. (I really dont own that truck.. its for example. I dont own a Kia either. I own a Ram 1500 Hemi off road 4X4)

I am in no way over riding the correct answer here. I am NOT an electrician. I know the basics but I have no clue about specifics. Listen to the experts here. I just wanted to share my story & share that you dont NEED it done that way but, if you want it that way, its ok, it just costs more & is over kill. If I am wrong, I expect the professionals here to correct any wrong advice I have provided.

Good luck.......
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-17, 06:40 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,463
Received 72 Votes on 67 Posts
I own a Ram 1500 Hemi off road 4X4
that's the way I want it.
_________________________________________________________________
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: