Separate breaker trip when dryer (gas) turns on


  #1  
Old 01-24-17, 01:45 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Separate breaker trip when dryer (gas) turns on

I've had this dryer(gas) over a year now. Just having this problem about 2 weeks ago. Whenever I turn on my dryer, it will trip the laundry room/bathroom breaker within 5 seconds, not the washer/dryer breaker. I thought it would be somehow 2 circuits are connected ground, neutral whatever (uneducated guess, not an electrician). So I try to plug the dryer in the kitchen outlet with extension cord. Does the same thing, it trips the laundry room breaker. And I try the outlet in the game room, same result. Only thing connected to the laundry room breakers are the lights. The breaker trips no matter if the lights are on or off. Nothing happens when I turn on the washer which is under same circuit as the dryer. Any idea/help why my dryer tripping the laundry room breaker with no obvious reason?
 
  #2  
Old 01-24-17, 02:02 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Are these standard breakers or GFCI/AFCI breakers (which have a test button)?
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-17, 02:15 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Give make and model # of dryer. Different breaker trip when plugged different outlets?
 
  #4  
Old 01-24-17, 02:39 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The breaker that trips has a test button, the washer/dryer breaker does not have a test button. Sorry no picture for the washer /dryer breaker right now.
The dryer is Whirlpool Model WGD75HEFW 7.4 cu. ft. Gas Dryer
Same laundry room breaker trip, regardless where i plug the dryer to... kitchen, game room....
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 01-24-17, 03:35 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I would remove the cover on the breaker panel and tighten the connections on the laundry breaker that trips.
If it still trips, I would change the breaker out to one of the other GFCI breakers and test.
 
  #6  
Old 01-24-17, 09:14 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Family need lights at night. I will try that during day time this weekend. I'll let you know if it works Thank you.
 
  #7  
Old 01-25-17, 02:53 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Plug dryer into washer outlet and see if that breaker trips. Just making sure it is not a dryer problem.
 
  #8  
Old 01-25-17, 08:32 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried that, same result. Hopefully Electromen's suggestion will fix the problem. It is so annoying doing laundry with no lights. and no power in the bathroom.
 
  #9  
Old 01-27-17, 01:49 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,853
Received 114 Votes on 101 Posts
I don't see a tripped breaker in the picture, just one that has been turned off. QO series breakers always trip to the center position and never to the off position.
 
  #10  
Old 01-29-17, 11:22 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yea, i took the picture after I reset it. It always trip to the center position.
Anyways, found the problem. I swap the breaker with the bedroom breaker, which is exactly the same breaker. It trips the same laundry room/bathroom breaker. So I disconnected the dryer duct to the wall to see if the heat is causing the problem. Turned on the dryer and everything works fine. So I re-connect the duct and went up to the attic, found this fan in the picture. Turned on the dryer, trip the breaker again. But if i unplugged the fan and turn on the dryer, everything works fine. So the problem is this fan tripping the breaker. Now my question is, do I really need this fan? Is it safe to leave it unplug when dryer is running? Can anyone help since its no longer a electrical question?Name:  IMG_20170129_125127.jpg
Views: 610
Size:  25.1 KBName:  IMG_20170129_125141.jpg
Views: 664
Size:  25.6 KBName:  IMG_20170129_125158.jpg
Views: 591
Size:  28.6 KBName:  IMG_20170129_125112.jpg
Views: 662
Size:  36.6 KB
 
  #11  
Old 01-29-17, 11:35 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Probably the location of the laundry room is too far from an outside wall. A stupid mistake I have seen more than once. Because of the distance they may have needed a vent booster. It needs to be replaced or the dryer moved to a place where it can be properly vented without a booster.
 
  #12  
Old 01-29-17, 11:39 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My main concern is safety, is it safe to use the dryer until I get it replaced? Not going to move the dryer for sure
 
  #13  
Old 01-29-17, 11:41 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
A Dryer Booster Fan is required when the vent runs exceeds 20ft and two 90 elbows. I wouldn't attempt to run the dryer without it.
Disconnect it from the duct and see if it's clogged. The Dryer Booster runs on pressure switch that you see in the photo. When the dryer kicks on, the Booster detects the air movement and also runs.
It may need replaced.
 
  #14  
Old 01-29-17, 11:44 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
For a temporary fix, pick up an Indoor Dryer Vent

The problem with one of these is the humidity added to the indoor air. Some added humidity might not be a problem during the winter heating season.

MODERTATOR NOTE: An indoor vent kit can never be used with a gas dryer! This is deadly as it will exhaust carbon monoxide gas into the living space!
 

Last edited by ibpooks; 01-30-17 at 02:20 PM. Reason: Hazardous advice
  #15  
Old 01-30-17, 11:08 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. Will get it replace ASAP
 
  #16  
Old 01-30-17, 02:22 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
For a temporary fix, pick up an Indoor Dryer Vent

The problem with one of these is the humidity added to the indoor air. Some added humidity might not be a problem during the winter heating season.
MODERTATOR NOTE: An indoor vent kit can never be used with a gas dryer! This is deadly as it will exhaust carbon monoxide gas into the living space!
 
  #17  
Old 01-30-17, 07:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,853
Received 114 Votes on 101 Posts
My main concern is safety, is it safe to use the dryer until I get it replaced? Not going to move the dryer for sure
Be sure when you buy a new booster it is a Dryer Booster and not just a duct booster, there is a huge difference. It is impossible to tell from your pictures exactly what type you currently have.
 
  #18  
Old 01-30-17, 07:17 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Good catch on the GAS DRYER
 
  #19  
Old 01-31-17, 07:59 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Noted. Thanks for everyone's help
 
  #20  
Old 01-31-17, 08:12 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Or move the dryer to a better place for a dryer and you won't need a booster. Garages are usually a good place or a basement if you have one.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: