Breaker specs

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-17, 06:27 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 399
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker specs

I noticed on my bryant panel some Eaton double tandom, an one set of 20s had BR on them an the set of 15 had BD on them.Is this anything I'd need to look at? The majority of the rest say BD .
What is the difference ?4
Thanks

Pic is upside down but you. can see difference
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by trotter; 01-24-17 at 07:06 PM.
  #2  
Old 01-24-17, 07:39 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,780
Received 251 Votes on 219 Posts
The type BD is for the tandem breaker. Type BR is a standard breaker. The Eaton is a direct replacement Bryant breakers. None of this is an issue.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-17, 08:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,212
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The label inside the panel will list the acceptable breakers that can be used in the panel.
 
  #4  
Old 01-24-17, 09:48 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 399
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There's now a tandom BR there..an the other tandom says BD..
BR20/20 an BD15/15
Did notice on types the 20 says DNPL also an 15 doesnt. Both have ,BRD and A on types
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by trotter; 01-24-17 at 10:14 PM.
  #5  
Old 01-24-17, 10:45 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,645
Received 47 Votes on 42 Posts
The BD tandems are CTL. BR tandems are non-CTL and most likely are not UL listed to be in that panel. Non-CTL are for 1960s and earlier panels. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Circuit_total_limitation
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-17, 07:49 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
That Siemens breaker shouldn't be in a Bryant panel. While they are the correct type for a Bryant panel, the tandems may or may not be OK depending on which slots (if any) are approved for tandems. The panel label usually details this with some sort of diagram.
 
  #7  
Old 01-25-17, 08:58 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 399
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea I noticed that on the breaker to sump pump being seimans.a year ago the association(condo) had someone put that in .Youd think the pros would put the correct brand in!
I'm gonna see what the panel says.

Having the old BD an BR there 10plus years hasnt caused any issues but it is a 80s panel,they weren't as strict then with breaker types I guess.
Thanks for the info.
 
  #8  
Old 01-25-17, 09:22 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
The rules on breakers have been set since sometime in the 1960s. Using the wrong ones is ignorance, laziness or cheapness, and is a decent sign the work was not permitted or inspected. The association should probably re-evaluate the "pro" they have doing electrical work.
 
  #9  
Old 01-25-17, 10:08 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 399
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Was cafci even the correct type for sump pump..i thought gfci.i will talk to the association.
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 01-25-17, 12:52 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 399
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Association is sending out someone in morning .What ideally needs to go in place is the seimans arc fault in pic?
 
  #11  
Old 01-25-17, 07:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,212
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The breaker needs to be listed for the panel it is used in.

The sump in an unfinished basement would require gfi protection under the latest codes.
 
  #12  
Old 01-26-17, 07:07 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I believe the Eaton part number is GFTCB120 for the GFCI breaker. If your area also requires AFCI protection for this type of circuit, you'll need the combination breaker BRLAFGF120
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: