3way switch for 800W light fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-17, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3way switch for 800W light fixture

Hi,

Was looking for help in getting wires connected properly ... Dimmer is rated for 1000W.

Diagram hopefully explains the wires coming into box....

Thanks Erik
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-25-17, 12:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The diagram is not for a 3-way switch. A 3-way switch circuit has two switches at different locations. What you seem to have is a dimmer that can be used either for a single switch in one location or on a 3-way circuit. On a single switch use either the red or blue lead is capped but not used. Does the instructions say which lead is not used? Does the dimmer also have a white lead?

If you really do mean a three way show the other switch and give us make and model of the dimmer and if it uses a slave.
.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-25-17 at 02:15 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-25-17, 04:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dimmer switch

Hi Ray,

You're correct, I have a Leviton 4542 10 dimmer switch that I just want to use for the ceiling light. It's rated for 1000w

It has the black, white, red, yellow (flagged for use in 3-way) and the green ground.

Would you be able to give me a blow by blow on where wires are connected?

Thanks

Erik
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-17, 04:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
Is that a two gang box ?
Will you still be using a switch to control the receptacles ?

Please confirm and post the full model number. I'm getting a Vizia Z wave control.
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-17, 05:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Here is one possible way to wire it assuming you want the receptacle half switched but wait until you have given PJ the info he requested and he has confirmed my diagram. He's the pro not me.

Name:  G 2.jpg
Views: 199
Size:  25.4 KB

Larger image: http://myphotos.mypclinuxos.com/images/ray2047/g2.jpg
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-25-17 at 06:29 PM. Reason: Swap colors.
  #6  
Old 01-25-17, 05:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
Your diagram is good Ray but most standard dimmers don't need neutral.

Interesting.... your assuming that red is always live to receptacles while I would assume black was always live.

Although in this instance it wouldn't make any difference unless there were always live receptacles online after the switched ones.
 
  #7  
Old 01-25-17, 06:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
most standard dimmers don't need neutral
Pete, I wouldn't expect white on a dimmer but his diagram shows white. I was guessing it was for the electronics or maybe I misread his diagram.
your assuming that red is always live to receptacles while I would assume black was always live.
Yes I screwed that one up. Thanks for catching that. Now corrected.
 
  #8  
Old 01-25-17, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi guys,

Yes, it's a two gang box.

And the switch was for the receptacles.

Perhaps the model # is DZMX1 , leviton

The other numbers on back of packaging are very long ....
 
  #9  
Old 01-25-17, 07:35 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
A dimmer switch cannot be used on a standard receptacle.
 
  #10  
Old 01-25-17, 07:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It is my understanding the dimmer is for the light. The receptacle is on a SPST switch.
 
  #11  
Old 01-25-17, 08:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's correct Ray. Dimmer is for the light... Going to wire things up tomorrow !
 
  #12  
Old 01-25-17, 08:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Just wanted to clarify. Thanks
 
  #13  
Old 01-25-17, 09:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
And to clarify you do only want to switch half the switch only. That question got lost.
 
  #14  
Old 01-26-17, 08:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I'm just putting things back the way I found them.... Except with the inclusion of this new dimmer switch for the new ceiling light. Which has 20 bulbs in it and is like staring at the sun when it is on full.... Thus the need for the dimmer. ; )
 
  #15  
Old 01-26-17, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Complete!

Hey guys,

Successful install!

Thanks to everyone for the sharing of the knowledge.!

Much appreciated. 10 karma points to all concerned! : )
 
  #16  
Old 01-26-17, 02:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Great! Thanks for letting us know it worked for you. Always glad to help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: