Cooktop wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-29-17, 01:42 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cooktop wiring

Can you please help. I have a new cooktop with red, black and green wires. The house supply is red, black and white wires. The old cooktop was connected red-red, black-black and the copper wire was not connected to the white wire. How would I connect the cooktop? Any help or advice will be appreciated. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-29-17, 01:49 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Welcome to the forums! If your new cooktop has no electronics on it (clock, etc.) then it is a pure 240 volt appliance and will need no neutral. There should be a grounding wire in the junction box. Do you see that? Just cap off the white wire, connect the red and black to the red and black of the stove and the ground/green to the grounding wire in the box. Let us know if you have no grounding wire.
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-17, 01:56 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Chandler. Unfortunately there is no grounding wire in the junction box.
 
  #4  
Old 01-29-17, 01:59 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,917
Received 60 Votes on 56 Posts
Is your cook top a 240 volt?.................
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-17, 02:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure ... How can I tell? I think it might be.
 
  #6  
Old 01-29-17, 02:36 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will have to check with your local electrical/building inspector and see if they allow bonding the ground to neutral.

If bonding is not allowed, you need to install new cable with a bare ground.
The bare ground will be connected to both the metal junction box and the bare wire from the appliance whip.
 
  #7  
Old 01-29-17, 03:02 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Is the wiring for the cooktop supply in conduit? That may hold a better answer.
 
  #8  
Old 01-29-17, 03:08 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the "house wire" comes directly from the Main Panel, and not a sub panel, I see no problem with putting green tape on the white wire and using it as Ground.
 
  #9  
Old 01-29-17, 03:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I see no problem with putting green tape on the white wire and using it as Ground.
But the NEC does. A ground in a cable must be bare or factory green.
Equipment grounding conductors can be bare, covered, or insulated. Insulated equipment grounding conductors size 6 AWG and smaller must have a continuous outer finish either green or green with one or more yellow stripes [210.5(B), 250.119].
 
  #10  
Old 01-29-17, 04:58 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK you got me, you are correct
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: