Ground wire or no ground wire for sub panel

Old 01-31-17, 02:10 PM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground wire or no ground wire for sub panel

Hi guys newbie here.
i'm installing a 120v sub panel at my shop which requires approx. 110f of wiring. I will be installing a ground rod at my shop.
here's my question:
Do i need to pull a ground from my source panel since i'm installing a ground rod at the sub panel? the reason for question is i'm a little tight on pvc conduit ID.

thanks
John

Old 01-31-17, 02:19 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Ground rod is GEC (Ground Electrode) conductor for atmospheric charges. The ground from your panel Is the EGC (Equipment Grounding Conductor). It provides a low resistance path to clear faults such as hot shorting to the metal cases of equipment. You need both.

You won't find a readily available panel for 120 volts. How do you plan to convert a 240 volt panel to 120 volts?
i'm a little tight on pvc conduit ID
Then you used the wrong size. What size wire are you using?

It sounds like you were unfamiliar with how to do this. Tell us what you need to power at the shop. If you need no more than two 20 amp 120v circuits a multiwire circuit with no subpanel would be enough. If you need more normally a 120/240 sub panel is a better choice.

Old 01-31-17, 02:30 PM
C
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Is this a detached shop or attached to a home?

Old 01-31-17, 02:49 PM
N
it is detached. im using #4 in a one inch pvc. when i said it would be tight, i wAS thinking about only me having to do the setup with wounded wires and pulling it myself. Could'nt i just install a small junction box and connnect hot to bus, neutral to the neutral bus and gnd to gnd bus? I need 40amps at shop. nothing in shop will pull over 15 amps starting

Old 01-31-17, 03:51 PM
it is detached. im using #4 in a one inch pvc.
That is just wrong. I hope you can return it.
I need 40amps at shop. nothing in shop will pull over 15 amps starting