Service entrance cable question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-17, 02:00 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Service entrance cable question

Will 4/0 4/0 4/0 Aluminum service entry cable fit into a main lug 200 amp load center. The load center is a main lug with no main circuit breaker but i have a circuit breaker on the power pole below the meter. The load center is rated for 200 amps its a 20 space 40 circuit box. Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 02-09-17, 02:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Yes.... the 4/0 will fit the lugs.
However, you are required to have a disconnect also at that sub panel since there are more than six breaker spaces.
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-17, 02:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay i am not worried about the disconnect since I'm way out in the boonies. It's only going to be a temporary box till i get my taxes in. Thank you for the help
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-17, 02:27 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Depending on the configuration you may need a 4 conductor cable such as 4/0-4/0-4/0-2. We'd need to know more about the layout.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-17, 05:46 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Has any one hooked up an Eaton 200 amp mqin lug load center 20 space 40 circuit? I know the 2 hot cables go into the middle at the main lugs but the way this panel is set up is different than any others ive ever hooked up. Can some one explain to me where my neutral and my ground cable hook up. Woukd like a diagram also if you can. Please help me with this panel. I cwn find information on every other panel except this one.
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-17, 06:59 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
There should be a neutral bar. Also as mentioned if this panel is after a disconnect (and it should be) you need a ground wire and will need to add a ground bar and isolate the neutral bar (remove ground strap/screw) from the case.
 
  #7  
Old 02-10-17, 10:39 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The wiring diagram should be inside the panel.
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-17, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
A picture of it would also be helpful. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: