Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

OK to add an outlet to existing one on other side of wall?

OK to add an outlet to existing one on other side of wall?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-10-17, 10:33 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
OK to add an outlet to existing one on other side of wall?

I need to add an outlet in a closet to plug in a cordless vacuum. The most direct and painless way is to tap into an existing box directly on the other side of the wall. Is it permissible to simply go through the back or side of the existing box (using a snap-in grommet) with a short length of romex & into a plastic old work box?
 
  #2  
Old 02-10-17, 10:36 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
That would depend on what the room is outside the closet. Certain circuits are restricted from serving other areas.
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-17, 01:04 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It's the outlet behind my gas range.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-17, 01:34 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I would say it's unlikely you can extend it. If that circuit serves the kitchen countertops, microwave or range hood it cannot be extended outside the kitchen. If it is a general-purpose circuit then you can extend it.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-17, 03:53 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,647
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
OP said closet so unless it is a food pantry it would not be allowed to be on a kitchen receptacle circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-17, 04:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
OOPs thanks for the correction. I read a lot of posts and sometimes details fade or scramble.
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-17, 04:44 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
AFAIK it's a 15A circuit that serves only the range. All the counter top circuits are 20A.
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-17, 05:33 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,796
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
If that is true, then yes, you can extend that circuit to the closet. Keep in mind that you may not extend an ungrounded circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-17, 06:47 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thank you.

I have grounded wiring throughout but can you tell me why something so commonplace is no longer allowed in older homes with ungrounded wiring?
(The answer may apply to my cottage, which has a mix of old & new)
 
  #10  
Old 02-12-17, 07:39 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Since the purpose of the code is life safety and a ground enhances safety they do not want the less safe wiring extended.
 
  #11  
Old 02-13-17, 07:43 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I didn't know the code was so restrictive on older systems that your hands are tied on even basic changes. I always thought "grandfathered" meant such simple things were allowed. Is this a gray area?
 
  #12  
Old 02-13-17, 11:51 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I always thought "grandfathered" meant such simple things were allowed.
Preexisting wiring is allowed to remain but new wiring must meet current code. A new outlet* must be grounded because that is code. If there is no ground where you are coming from then the new circuit can't be wired to meet the current code.

*Outlet is used as defined in the NEC, anywhere power is tapped.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: