Need 3gang diagram for below items

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-18-17, 12:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need 3gang diagram for below items

I am looking for a DIAGRAM that shows the following:

A switch that runs to the disposer
A standard unswitched receptacle
An unswitched receptacle with USB outlets (should wire like a standard.
An unswitched line that leads to the dishwasher (this comes off one of the outlets)

All wires are in the box already, I had to remove a Gfi receptacle because the dishwasher was causing it to trip and shut down the entire circuit.
When I pulled it some of the other connections came off so I need to be certain I am reconnecting everything in the proper order.

Thank you

Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-18-17, 12:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,982
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
It sounds like you have some code violations. The dishwasher should not be on the counter top receptacle circuit. It should be on its own circuit or possibly shared with a disposal.

You are going to need to identify all the cables before you go any further since you should be dealing with multiple circuits. Are they labeled in the panel? Do you have a multimeter?
 
  #3  
Old 02-18-17, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes I do have a multimeter, and all these lines are on one breaker.
Regretfully the wiring is from a house built in 1965.
Can I get rid of one receptacle and have the dishwasher on the incoming hot line.
Then carry the circuit thru the multipurpose receptacle and over to the disposer switch?
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-17, 01:21 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,982
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Do you have access from below to run new cables to bring this closer to today's codes? Just trying to prevent breaker tripping from overloads.
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-17, 01:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
the wiring is from a house built in 1965
Do the cables have ground wires? If not and they aren't modern metallic cables with a bonding strip by code they can not be extended or repurposed.
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-17, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or, is there another way to run the circuit with the same incoming line that supplies the dishwasher unswitched, the disposer switched and the one receptacle?

I really hate to give up my receptacle there as it is the only one for my kitchen counters.

My breaker box is one floor down at the far end of the house so pulling a new line is pretty much out of the question. Im guessing that would be a huge electrician bill.
 
  #7  
Old 02-18-17, 01:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They all have ground wires and are 12 gauge romex
 
  #8  
Old 02-18-17, 01:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My mistake, they are 14 gauge.
 
  #9  
Old 02-18-17, 01:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Did you find what was causing the GFI to trip or is your plan to remove it ?

You mentioned standard receptacle, GFI receptacle, receptacle with USB power and switch.
That's four items...... in a three gang box ?


You should have three cables there.... power in, dishwasher and disposer..... correct ?

You do have some serious issues. #14 is severely undersized for that application.
Is this your own home ?
 
  #10  
Old 02-18-17, 01:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is my own home.

I'll recheck the gauge on the wire, if I am correct it sounds like I am in need of an electrician!

I was unclear about what all was in the box...

Originally there was a switch that turns the disposer on/off.
Next to that was the GFI receptacle
Last was the multi purpose receptacle

What we were doing was adding the dishwasher into the circuit using a pigtail(?) off this circuit thru that box.
However once it was hooked up the GFI kept tripping.

My thought was the GFI is too sensitive for that run and to remove it, replacing it with a normal receptacle.
 
  #11  
Old 02-18-17, 01:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are 3 cables in the box.
-Power in
-Switch to disposer
-Receptacles
 
  #12  
Old 02-18-17, 02:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
My thought was the GFI is too sensitive for that run and to remove it, replacing it with a normal receptacle.
NEC 2014 210.8(D) "GFCI protection shall be required for outlets that supply dishwashers.
I'll recheck the gauge on the wire
And check the breaker size.
 
  #13  
Old 02-18-17, 03:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's good to know about the gfci to dishwasher relationship. I'll check wire & breaker as well. One note is we never tried to run the dishwasher only checked to see if the circuit was complete by turning on the power button which showed the clock.
 
  #14  
Old 02-19-17, 12:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
IGNORE THIS POST


It is a 20 amp breaker

Wire is 14 gauge.

I'm going to remove the dish washer from this line and hire an electrician. I'd like to re do the set of plugs an the disposer switch. Is it safe to do all that off the 14 gauge?
 
  #15  
Old 02-19-17, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm incorrect again! I was looking at the numbers for the stranded wire!
All the wire is solid core and is 12 gauge!
Can I run the disposer & 2 receptacles off that? With a 20 amp breaker?
I also have 2 more receptacles in other locations on the same circuit?

If so what would be the diagram to run
-switch for disposer
-unswitched receptacle
-unswitched multi use receptacle!
 
  #16  
Old 02-19-17, 01:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Can I run the disposer & 2 receptacles off that? With a 20 amp breaker?
I also have 2 more receptacles in other locations on the same circuit?
Technically probably if no other high amp loads but it would be a code violation. You need to run a new circuit for the disposer.
 
  #17  
Old 02-19-17, 01:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,982
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
If the electrician is being called for other issues it should not take much to figure out the old wiring.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: