Madison smartbox: personal experience with clamps??

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-17, 06:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Madison smartbox: personal experience with clamps??

Seriously, how do you use the clamps on these?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-17, 06:35 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,503
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
What clamps are you talking about, Looks like plastic box.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-17, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,519
Received 406 Votes on 382 Posts
Are you talking about the smart box with the screw ears or the one with the adjustable depth mounting bracket?

Post a link to the one you're having trouble with.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-17, 07:42 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yeah, a specific link would help. Most Madison Smartboxes attach internally with angle screws into framing members, so I am not sure what "clamps" you are speaking of.
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-17, 08:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,571
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Smart Box

I think the OP is referring to the cable clamps on the back edges of the box.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-17, 10:51 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If you are referring to the cable capture feature, the cables just push through. It is sort of like a one way street. You can push them through, but can't pull the back out.
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-17, 12:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
But the cable clamps seem to be all molded together.

You have to essentially create the cable clamp by jamming a screwdriver in there.

And then it remains jagged.

I don't know if I am doing this wrong.
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-17, 12:50 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,503
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Sometimes you can just push wires through or sometimes I have to open with screwdriver.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: