Variable speed motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-17, 12:38 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Variable speed motor

I have acquired a 15 HP (3 phase) variable speed motor of ancient origins. Original control is gone. What do I need to make it run? Make is Westinghouse "Life Line"; frame 364; 15 HP; dual voltage 3 phase; Amp 42.6/21.3; RPM 1150.

There is a separate call out for Rotor Circuit at 240 Volts, 32.5 Amps. I do not know to what that refers.

Any help is appreciated
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-17, 02:41 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
You have a wound rotor motor. The first thing you need is three-phase power, very unlikely if you want to run it in a residential setting.

Read this for a little information on wound rotor motors. Wound-Rotor Motors — High Torque and Adjustable Speed

Here is some more information: https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/tex...uction-motors/

And: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wound_rotor_motor

More: Three-Phase Wound-Rotor Induction Motor
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-17, 08:00 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you! I do have 3 phase power. I am not an electrician, and finding the right person or information has been difficult for me. I know this isn't an industrial site, so it is fortuitous that I found someone knowledgeable on this motor here. I read the links you referenced, and they were informative, but I have not been able to pickup how specifically to control my motor.

Would a VFD do what I need?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MAGNETEK-GPD...0AAOSwyKxXg-jy
http://www.ebay.com/itm/GE-VFD-AF-30...cAAOSwopRYgWaI
I suppose a potentiometer would some how fit into the equation?
 

Last edited by kabe8; 02-27-17 at 08:18 AM.
  #4  
Old 02-27-17, 09:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,876
Received 1,342 Votes on 1,240 Posts
It's not a VFD that's needed..... it's a three phase adjustable resistance unit.

Try searching for.....
A Wye connected resistive speed controller.

I'll check further.
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-17, 11:32 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
The only wound rotor motor I have ever seen is in a steam-electric generating station, installed around 1919. It is, as I recall, rated at 200 horsepower with 2400 volt two-phase (yes, TWO-phase) input and is used in tandem with a steam turbine on a jet condenser extraction pump. The controller is a drum switch that stands about four feet high and is connected with a whole lot of wires to a pretty big bank of resistors. Just guessing but I think the resistor bank is about 12 inches high, 12 inches deep and 36 inches long, it could be bigger. I'll see if I have any pictures.

I really can't tell you anything about the operation as the last time it ran was in 1973. While I was there, I was otherwise occupied and had nothing to do with the operation. I'll see if I can find some pictures.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: