New outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-02-17, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New outlet

I didn't know where to post this , but I'm trying to install a new outlet off a old one , the outlet I wanna run off isn't at the end of the circuit , has 2 wires coming in , what Am wondering about is , both the neaturals and hots are on this outlet , not pigtailed and what not , is that just a way of keeping the circuit running onto the next outlet , but if I took the wires out , would I have to pigtail all 3 hots + a extra onto that outlet and do that with the neatrul to? Will that mess anything up , do u need 2 hots and 2 neautrals on a outlet ? Can't u only have one hot and neatural as long as the tab isn't broken it will supply electric to both outlets ? Idk if u understand but any help would be appreciated thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-02-17, 04:31 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums! When you have more than two cables (not wires) entering a box, it is always better to pig tail the whites together, blacks together, and grounds. The receptacles is not designed to accept any more than one wire under the screw. By all means, don't use the push back feature as it causes loose connections over time.

Does your receptacle have a broken tab?
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-17, 04:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1 cable comes in and 1 is going out , the hots and nesutrals aren't on the same screw they are in the push in slot in the back I was gonna rip them out and pigtail them+with a new wire for new outlet then just rewire that outlet on the screws , Nd I'm not sure if it is broken I'm not home will check when I'm home but all the receptecals in this room and I would assume house are wired this way
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-17, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was just confused because I never seen it like that where the cable coming in and the cable going out isn't pigtailed they are both wired into the receptecal through the slots in the back and of course the grounds are raped around eatchother then grounded on the screw, sorry if Ita hard to understand what I'm trying to explain lol
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-17, 05:10 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
There are usually two holes in the back for hots, and two holes for neutrals. If the tabs aren't broken (probably aren't) the two hot holes will be connected together internally and the two neutrals will be connected together internally.

It's fairly common to see it done that way, essentially using the receptacle to splice the two cables together while also making the receptacle connections. It's fast and time is money for builders so they take the fast route even if it isn't the best way to do it.

It is better practice to wire nut all the hots together and run a pigtail to the receptacle; same for the neutrals and grounds.
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-17, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,268
Received 382 Votes on 359 Posts
they are both wired into the receptecal through the slots in the back
And this this what could happen when you do that.

Name:  push in damage - Copy.jpg
Views: 199
Size:  41.6 KB
 
  #7  
Old 03-02-17, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wow that's scary , thanks for reply guys , when running new wire off a existing wire do you have to use same gauge as existing wire ? If so how do u find out the exact gauge
 
  #8  
Old 03-02-17, 05:30 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You can use the same or larger (larger wire has smaller gauge number; 12 is bigger than 14), although not really any reason to use larger and it's harder to work with.

Most likely yours is 14 ga since they backstabbed the receptacle.
If the circuit breaker for the circuit is 15 amps it will most likely be 14 ga. If the circuit breaker is 20 amps it will be 12 ga.

Or, If it's romex cable gauge is usually stamped into the jacket...12-2 or 14-2. Or you can measure the copper part of the wire with a micrometer or calipers. Or get a little piece of 12 ga and 14 ga and compare the copper part.
 
  #9  
Old 03-02-17, 05:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great thanks , one last question , when you wire a receptecle does it matter wha screws u wrap the hot and nesutral around ? Like both on top both on bottom ? I know witch sides they go on but Would it not work if one was on top and one was on bottom ?if u understand what I'm saying , I have a pretty good idea but when it comes to electric I wanna verify all my knowledge I can , Just due to the risk mistakes can cause
 
  #10  
Old 03-02-17, 06:24 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
There is no top or bottom. Pigtailing the wire groups to one screw is normal. Black to the gold and white to silver. They are internally connected.
 
  #11  
Old 03-03-17, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is thier a limit on how many receptecals and lights can be on one breaker ? Because on the breAker that the outlet is wired to that I wanna go off already has about 15 receptecals ran to that breaker + like 3 lights , isn't thier a limit ? Not all outlets are being used out of the 15 but just curious
 
  #12  
Old 03-03-17, 01:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,949
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Canada has a limit per circuit. Under the NEC in the US there is no limit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: