Convert from switched outlet to switched fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-17, 11:33 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Convert from switched outlet to switched fixture

Hello,

I have a switch-controlled outlet that has three cables coming into it. I created a diagram below as best as I can. The switch (not pictured) is single-pole with a black on top and a white on bottom position. There is no ceiling fixture and we would like to add one. How can I change this to a standard (non-switched) outlet and make the switch control the ceiling fixture?

Much thanks in advance,
Tom

Name:  outlet.png
Views: 239
Size:  17.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-17, 11:47 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The switch (not pictured) is single-pole with a black on top and a white on bottom position.
So you have a switch loop.
  • At the switch disconnect the 2-conductor cable from the switch.
  • Run a cable from the new light to the switch box.
  • At the switch box connect the whites to each other and the blacks to the switch.

  • (Simplest way of two) At he receptacle if the tab on the brass side of the receptacle is broken replace the receptacle.
  • At the receptacle connect all blacks to a pigtail.
  • At the receptacle connect all whites to a pigtail.
  • At the receptacle connect the pigtails to the new receptacle with tab not broken.
  • Connect grounds per code.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-17, 11:02 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks ray2047! I was able to install ceiling fans in 2 of 3 rooms but not the 3rd -- I lose access to the cable coming from the outlet to the switch due to the placement of A/C return so i can't fish a cable down to the outlet box. Is there a way to cut that cable where i can access it and add a junction box? I wonder if the following would work:

- cut the cable
- put junction box at cut and put cut cable ends to box
- run 2-conductor cable from box to fixture
- connect black from switch box to black from receptacle
- connect white from switch box to black from fixture
- connect white from fixture to white from receptacle
- connect grounds in new box
- at receptacle connect whites together with pigtail to go to the receptacle
- at receptacle connect blacks together with pigtail to go to the receptacle
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-17, 11:28 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Normally not enough slack in the cable you cut to splice so you would need two junction boxes about a foot apart with a short cable between.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-17, 11:33 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks again! Other than the 2nd box does this sound right? As far as the proper connections, that is.
 
  #6  
Old 05-02-17, 11:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you have a switch loop and it as previously described yes.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: