Doorbell makes a low buzz

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-16-17, 05:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doorbell makes a low buzz

Hello.

Just bought a house. The doorbell didn't work. So I looked at the wires and one of the wires was off. The red wire. When you touch the red wire to the middle Name:  IMG_4055.jpg
Views: 2675
Size:  37.6 KBscrew on the black box the door bell goes off then has a low buzz that continues.

Here is a video: https://youtu.be/t4txcFJdCF0

And a photo...

Thanks for your help and suggestions.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-16-17, 06:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You either have a bad chime switch front or back that is stuck on or a short in the wires. It should not chime unless a button is pressed when the transformer wire (middle) is connected. Try disconnecting either the front or rear button. If it no longer chimes when the transformer wire is touched to the center terminal you have isolated the problem. If it chimes test the other switch wire to make sure it is okay. (No chime means okay. Further verify by pressing the chime button with the transformer wire connected.)

Name:  IMG_4055.jpg
Views: 2359
Size:  33.1 KB

Bet the short was why the wire was disconnected.

I am though unsure of the "gray wiring" in the chime. What does it say on the top in my picture.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-16-17 at 06:26 PM.
  #3  
Old 03-16-17, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,624
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
It says "intercom". That is two inductive coils connected to a potentiometer.
The coils pick up the vibration of the tone bars.
That control adjusts the level of the chime in the home intercom.

Probably a Nutone chime.
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-17, 06:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thanks, Pete. New one to me.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-17, 07:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I will try out your process to test the wires tomorrow. Getting late.

Yes, it is probably a NuTone Chime. We have a NuTone intercom system.
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-17, 07:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question: Can I buy parts to fix this or do I need to buy a new door bell.
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-17, 07:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,624
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
You need to check for a shorted front door push button first.


That is a very old chime unit..... so the typical problem with it is that once the button is pushed you just hear the buzzing or a weak strike of the tones plates. In your video the action sounds excellent for that unit. Nothing sticking.

In the event it needed to be cleaned.... you would carefully remove the tone bar that the red arrow is pointing to. It's held in place with two rubber grommets. After that bar is removed you can slide each strike and spring out. Clean the round strike ONLY with lighter fluid. Absolutely nothing else... no WD-40 or silicone.

Name:  chime.jpg
Views: 2030
Size:  21.7 KB
 
  #8  
Old 03-20-17, 03:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi. Thanks for the advice.

So I disconnected the front button and it didn't chime. Is the next step to buy a new chime for the front door?
 
  #9  
Old 03-20-17, 03:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,624
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
Assuming you disconnected the actual button at the front door..... then you would need to replace the front door button only.

Without the button connected..... you should be able to short those two wires and the doorbell should ring with the two tones. The voltage is low so no danger of a shock if you touch the wires.
 
  #10  
Old 03-20-17, 04:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If instead you mean you disconnected it at the chime reconnect it and disconnect the rear button at the chime.
 
  #11  
Old 09-26-18, 05:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doorbell stuck on the chime - buzzing, front wire

Hello

I have an old NuTone doorbell.

Recently, when the button was pressed it chimed and stuck on - with a long, continuous low buzz.

So, when I got home I disconnected the wire that goes to "Front". And it stopped. Of course.

When I reconnect the wire to "Front" screw it automatically triggers the hammer, it chimes and gets stuck again in the down position again.

How might I fix this?

I went to Home Depot and it looks like all the new doorbells are designed to screw on top of drywall rather than sit in a recessed hole in the wall - which this one does. So I would rather try and get this working than have to worry about the cost of replacing it plus fixing a hole in the wall.

Thanks for your help.
 
Attached Images  
  #12  
Old 09-26-18, 05:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello. I got the darn doorbell fixed last year but it is acting up again.

When you say "you have isolated the problem" what problem are you referring to?

Currently, the bottom hammer is stuck in a retracted position and buzzes.
 
  #13  
Old 09-26-18, 06:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,624
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
Didn't we cover all this already ?

If the front door actuator is staying engaged..... then the front door bell button is most likely bad.
 
  #14  
Old 09-26-18, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We did cover this. I installed a new front door button. And it worked. Now it doesn't again. I'm coming here for help.
 
  #15  
Old 09-26-18, 08:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,624
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
Disconnect the front door bell button at the button and see if the chime is quiet. It is very easy to get the wiring pinched behind the button. Besides that.... many of the new buttons are of poor quality.
 
  #16  
Old 09-30-18, 12:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wanted to provide an update.

It was the doorbell. Which surprised me since I just replaced it a year ago.

I contacted Ring and they said the plate that is screwed to the wall has a scratch. And is causing the error. They are sending a new plate. I will let you know if it addresses the problem.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: