Turning on ceiling fan also turns on lights???

Old 03-21-17, 05:21 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Turning on ceiling fan also turns on lights???

I have some electrical experience but cant figure out this one. Before making any changes everything worked fine. I wanted to move my ceiling fan so I replaced the electric line going to the ceiling fan.

before changes:

light switch had 3 wires:

gray 14-3 wire - ceilng fan
white wire - power in
gray 14-3 wire - lights, and powers electric outlets

because the gray wires were identical, i used color tape to label the wire going to the ceilng fan, and i labeled the wire going to the lights. However, when i removed the ceiling fan and started tugging on the gray wire, the wire labelled for the lights started to move! It's possible i could have made a mistake, but i dont see how that was possible.

after the changes:

light switch still has 3 wires:

new white 14-3 wire going to ceiling fan (red wire not used)
white wire - power in
old gray 14-3 wire going to lights (not touched) - black goes to outlets, red wire goes to lights.

Now there is no power to the light switch. Ceiling fan works fine. If i turn on the ceiling fan after about 20-30 seconds the light switch turns on, and my lights turn on! So turning on the ceiling fan turns on the ceiling fan AND the lights!

The old gray wire powered some electric outlets for awhile, but eventually those outlets went out. All other lets in the room work fine.

To me, it seems an obvious neutral/white wire issue. I am guessing when i turn on the ceiling fan it outputs power on the white wire, which goes to the white wire the lights use, which closes the loop.

Is it possible the black wire and white wire for the old gray 13-4 wire are mixed up? Would that explain how i mislabeled the wires????