Need help with outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-17, 05:38 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with outlets

In my kitchen I have some issues with my outlets. I plugged in a laptop to charge in a non-GFi outlet (outlet w/o test/reset?). Doing this immediately popped the gfi outlet to the left (red light came on). I can't push it in. Every outlet between the two do not work. IVe checked the fuse box in garage and everything seems to be ok. I flipped the two kitchen fuses off then on, but still nothing. Any ideas? Would love to not have to call an electrician if I can DYI. THANKS!
 
  #2  
Old 03-27-17, 05:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
IVe checked the fuse box in garage and everything seems to be ok. I flipped the two kitchen fuses off then on, but still nothing.
Then that isn't a fuse box and those aren't fuses. It is a breaker box with breakers.
Doing this immediately popped the gfi outlet to the left (red light came on). I can't push it in.
Did you remove the laptop plug before trying? If so open the GFCI receptacle and check for loose wires.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-17, 05:48 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Did you unplug your laptop before you pushed the reset? Usually a reset and test button did you push the right button? May have to open last outlet and take a picture of wires so we can see whats there.
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-17, 09:11 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I meant breaker. Yes, unplugged laptop immediately as outlet didn't work. I will try to upload a picture shortly. Visualize from left to right. Gfi outlet - regular outlet - regular outlet. Problem started when plugging laptop in right regular outlet. Caused gfi outlet to pop and middle and right regular outlets to not work. Guessing all on same circuit?
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-17, 09:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You need to open all the outlets and check all the connections. Do you have a multimeter? (A non contact tester can't be used.)
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-17, 09:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,223
Received 104 Votes on 90 Posts
Did you press the reset on the gfi and check the breaker in the panel?
 
  #7  
Old 03-27-17, 12:46 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reset won't catch when depressed on gfi. Breakers seem to be fine.
 
  #8  
Old 03-27-17, 03:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Disconnect the black and white wire from the load side of the GFCI. Will it now reset? If not using a multimeter measure the voltage on the line side of the GFCI receptacle.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: